Assaulted Caramel by Amanda Flower (review by Cathy)

Assulted Caramel

About the book:

 

Sometimes you need a sweet tooth to take a bite out of crime . . .

Bailey King is living the sweet life as assistant chocolatier at world-famous JP Chocolates in New York City. But just when Bailey’s up for a life-changing promotion, her grandmother calls with news that her grandfather’s heart condition has worsened. Bailey rushes to Harvest, Ohio, where her grandparents still run Swissmen Sweets, the Amish candy shop where she was first introduced to delicious fudge, truffles, and other assorted delights.

She finds her grandfather is doing better than she feared. Unfortunately, the same can’t be said for a local Englisch developer, whom Bailey finds dead in the candy shop kitchen—with Jebediah King’s chocolate knife buried in his chest. Now the police are sweet on her grandfather as the prime suspect. Despite the sincere efforts of a yummy deputy with chocolate-brown eyes, Bailey takes it on herself to clear Jebediah. But as a cunning killer tries to fudge the truth, Bailey may be headed straight into a whole batch of trouble

 

My review (4-stars)

Amanda Flower has been my favorite cozy author for quite sometime.  I know when I read her books, I’m going  to get an endearing protagonist, a few oddballs, an animal or two that I’m going to love and a murder.  She didn’t disappoint.

I loved the small town feel of Harvest, Ohio and could easily imagine the characters strolling around town and going in and out of the shops.  I could even imagine Jethro, the polka-dotted pot belly pig in church.  I adored him, although I was a bit nervous when he got too close to the chocolate covered truffles.

The author injects so much humor in her writing which I love.  The mystery in Assaulted Caramel is perfect and hard as I tried, I couldn’t figure out who  killed the developer.  I was shocked to find out who the culprit is..

While I was reading this book, I  laughed, cried, consumed huge amounts of chocolate and wondered if Jethro will make an appearance in the next book in the series.  I really hope he does.

If you’re looking for a fast paced and well written book, this is one I recommend.

I received a copy from the publisher and have given my honest opinion.

 

 

Leave a Reply

