In His Eyes by Stephenia H. McGee (review by Kristi)

in his eyes

About the book:  Her heart sought shelter. Her soul found home.

Ella Whitaker rescues a newborn from the dying arms of a woman of ill repute and at long last she has someone to love. In need of a wet nurse, she arrives at Belmont Plantation just as Federal soldiers demand to speak to the owner. Thinking quickly, Ella masquerades as a Yankee officer’s widow in order to have a roof over her head and a home for the child.

Major Westley Remington has dedicated his life to serving his country. The Civil War has divided his family, torn his thoughts of glory, and left him with a wound that may never heal. Westley returns home on medical furlough to settle his father’s estate at Belmont Plantation, only to find his home is being run by a fiery and independent woman—one many believe to be his wife. Now he is faced with a conflict he’s never been trained to fight, and one she has yet to conquer.

Kindle Edition                                  Published May 5, 2017, by The Vine Press

 

My review:  Embarrassingly I have to admit that I’ve had this book for a few months and have just now gotten around to reading it. However, I’m glad I waited to read this book because I was able to delay the enjoyment I received reading it. The story is solid and the characters are well-developed and complex. This book was so interesting I was able to read it in just a couple of sittings.

I liked all of the characters in this book. Ella is young but has had hardships in her life that make her seem older than her years. Westley, a.k.a. Major Remmington, is in the unique position of being a Yankee soldier while being from the south. Sibby may have been a house slave but she is smart, sharp, and cunning. Nothing gets past this woman. Each character brings something to the story and a perspective that makes the story dimensional and realistic.

I enjoyed this story from beginning to end and loved how everything came together. I enjoyed reading how Ella comes to Belmont and her interactions with the other residents of the estate. I found the pace of the story to be perfect and never found a moment of this book challenging to read.

The author has included faith in the story and does it in a way that is really interesting both to read and think about afterward. The way she included is unique and it fits into the story wonderfully.

This was a new to me author and now after reading this book, I will be searching for more of her work. I like her writing style as she pulled me right into the story and made me feel as if I were there with the characters experiencing everything they did. I enjoy historical fiction and can see this author quickly becoming one of my favorites in the genre. I highly recommend this book!

I was given a free copy of this book from the author and was not required to write a review. All opinions are mine.

 

About the author:  Stephenia H. McGee is a wife, mother of two very active little boys, author, and lover of history. She currently lives in Mississippi with her husband and sons where she writes stories of faith, redemption and the deep south.

Website   •   Facebook   •   Twitter

 

2 thoughts on “In His Eyes by Stephenia H. McGee (review by Kristi)

Leave a Reply

