Some Small Magic by Billy Coffey (review by Cathy)

Some Small Magic

About the book:

All Abel wants is a little bit of magic in his life. Enough money so his mom doesn’t cry at night. Healing for his broken body. And maybe a few answers about his past.

When Abel discovers letters to him from the dad he believed dead, he wonders if magic has come to the hills of Mattingly, Virginia, after all. But not everything is as it seems.

With a lot of questions and a little bit of hope, Abel decides to run away to find the truth. But danger follows him from the moment he jumps his first boxcar, forcing Abel to rely upon his simpleminded friend Willie—a man wanted for murder who knows more about truth than most—and a beautiful young woman who was already on the train.

From Appalachia to the Tennessee wilds and through the Carolina mountains, the name of a single small town beckons: Fairhope. That is where Abel believes his magic lays. But will it be the sort that will bring a broken boy healing? And is that the magic that will one day lead him home?

My review (5-stars)

Billy Coffey is a masterful storyteller and has quickly become one of my favorite authors. I know that I’ll love his characters and that they’ll be endearing. Wow, he certainly exceeded my expectations in Some Small Magic.

From the first page I was caught up in the life of Abel Shifflett a young frail boy who stole my heart. He is much stronger than I had originally expected him to be as he faces a bully, a less than ideal home life and finding out his father is alive. His bravery, coupled with his curiosity lead him and his friend Dumb Willie on a journey to find his father.
Dumb Willie is a wonderful and special character that I really loved. My heart went out to him because of the way he was treated.

I have to say that this book is full of surprises, some of which made me cry. Mr. Coffey takes not only his characters on an unexpected journey, but also his readers in this beautifully written novel. If you want a well written and meaningful read, I suggest this one..

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and have given my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

