The Beloved Hope Chest ( Amish Heirloom, #4) by Amy Clipston (review by Cathy)

the beloved hope chest

 

About the book:

In the final installment of the Amish Heirloom series, the Fisher sisters learn the mystery behind their parents’ marriage—and about the sibling who has never been spoken of.

Mattie Fisher’s three daughters know that she’s been keeping a secret from them. With each item pulled from the beloved family hope chest, they’ve discovered a new clue about their mother’s past.

But there’s a reason Mattie has been keeping her history hidden, and she’s not sure she’s ready to reopen old wounds. Will dredging up the past change the way her children view her? Or her marriage to their father? And can she handle the pain of revisiting the memories that preceded the last few happy decades?

Mattie’s story is one of grief and learning to love again. But like the best things preserved in a hope chest, it’s a story of love and redemption born out of heartache—and it’s past time to share it.

My review (5-stars)

Let me begin by saying that you will  need to have a quiet place to read  because you will not want any interruptions and are going to cry. Then you’ll need time to process the incredible story of Mattie Fischer.
.
If you have read the first three books ( and if you haven’t, I urge you to read them in order), you know that the Fisher girls have found a few unexplained items in their mother’s hope chest. The girls have been curious and Mattie has been silent.  At long last she shares her story with her daughters. I have been waiting for the fourth and final book in the Amish Heirloom series because I needed to find out exactly what her story is.

I can tell you that it’s one of the most moving stories I’ve read in quite sometime.  Amy takes her readers  back in time where we see Mattie and Leroy in their younger days and learn about the pain and loss that Mattie has experienced.  I was glad to learn more about Leroy, too and loved him for his kindness and patience.  He has loved Mattie since they were kids and has loved  her through her darkest times and he will not allow her to push him away.  Their story is both heartwrenching  and beautiful.

This was my favorite book in the series and though I’m sad to see it end, I loved the way it ended as the three previous books all fell into place.
I will definitely want to read this series again and if you haven’t read it yet, I highly recommend you do.

Amy Clipston’s  books are written from the heart and with great depth making her my favorite author.

I received a complimentary copy of The Beloved Hope Chest from the publisher and have given my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

