My Heart Belongs in the Superstition Mountains by Susan Page Davis (review by Kristi)

my heart belongs in the superstition mountains

About the book:  Journey now to Tuscon, Arizona, and into the Superstition Mountains of 1866, where…
 A Chance for Escape Takes Two Unlikely Allies on a Romantic Adventure Along a Desert Trail

Since orphaned at age twelve, Carmela Wade has lived a lie orchestrated by her uncle, pretending to be a survivor of an Indian kidnapping and profiting from telling her made-up story on the speaker circuit. But as she matures into adulthood, Carmela hates the lies and longs to be free. On a stagecoach in Arizona Territory, Carmela and her uncle are fellow passengers with US Marshal Freeland McKay and his handcuffed prisoner.

The stage is attacked. Now a chance to make a new life may suddenly be within Carmela’s reach. . .if she can survive the harsh terrain and being handcuffed to an unconscious man.

Will Carmela’s wish come true, or will she forever be branded by her past?

Paperback, 256 pages                            Published March 1, 2017 by Barbour Publishing

 

Look for these other titles in the series:

My Heart Belongs in Fort Bliss: Priscilla’s Reveille by Erica Vetsch (January 2017)
My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho: Rebecca’s Plight by Susanne Dietze (May 2017)
My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island: Maude’s Mooring by Carrie Fancett Pagels (July 2017)
My Heart Belongs in the Shenandoah Valley: Lily’s Dilemma by Andrea Boeshaar (September 2017)

 

My review:  What a read this book was! I was engrossed in Carmela’s story from the first page and couldn’t put the book down. Susan Page David has penned a story that will keep you entertained from beginning to end with characters you will come to love and those you will hate.

I immediately liked Carmela and felt sympathy for her having to live at the mercy of her Uncle Silas, whom I hated. He was such a greedy and mean person, and I didn’t like the fact he was earning money off of Carmela and making her tell lies to people. It was so easy to understand why she did it and why she wanted out of the scheme. The more I learned about Carmela’s life with her uncle the more I was hoping she would find a way out.

Enter the perfect leading man for this story: Freeland McKay. I liked him right away and loved his take charge personality and the way he treated Carmela. He was protective of her from the beginning and treated her with kindness and respect. I liked how the chemistry between the two didn’t overpower the story and was in fact not really mentioned too much.

Mrs. Finney was a perfect addition to the book. Her motherly nature was welcoming after all the time spent on the trail. She was a nice balance to all of the male characters in the book. She was protective of Carmela and provided her some much-needed guidance.

This is one of those books that is so easy to read that you sit down to read for a little while and suddenly realize you’ve been reading for hours and are over halfway through the book. The pacing of the story is perfect and the author has such a way with descriptions that you feel as if you are part of the story and right there with the characters.

This book was fun to read and one I will be putting on the keeper shelf. This book was my first by this author and it won’t be the last. I am also really loving this series which is all written by different authors. I will definitely be recommending this author and series.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

 

About the author:  From the author’s website:  I’m a native of central Maine and grew up on a small farm. My husband, Jim, and I lived in his home state, Oregon, for a while after we were married, but decided to move back to Maine and be near my family. We lived in Clinton, Maine for more than 32 years. In May, 2010, we moved to western Kentucky.

Our six children were all home-schooled. The exception was that our two youngest took their final year at a Christian school. We have ten gorgeous, brilliant grandchildren. 🙂 Right now we also have two cats and a horse.

I’ve always loved reading, history, and horses. I took a vocational course in horseshoeing after earning a bachelor’s degree in history. I don’t shoe horses anymore, but the experience has come in handy in writing several of my books.

Another longtime hobby of mine is genealogy, which has led me down many fascinating paths. Some of Jim’s and my quirkier ancestors have inspired fictional characters.

For many years I worked for the Central Maine Morning Sentinel as a freelancer. This experience was a great help in developing fictional characters and writing realistic scenes. I also published nonfiction articles in several magazines and had several short stories appear in Woman’s World, Grit, and Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine. I’ve been blessed with awards for several of my books, including the Carol Award (formerly known as the Book of the Year, sponsored by American Christian Fiction Writers), the Will Rogers Medallion, and the Inspirational Readers’ Choice Award. Three of my books have been “Top Picks” in Romantic Times Book Reviews magazine.

Website   •      Facebook   •   Twitter

Leave a Reply

