Rachel’s Dream by Lisa Jones Baker (review by Kristi)

Rachel's Dream

About the book:  Patience, faith–and the hopes and dreams within their hand-carved hope chests–help to bring three young Amish women, one by one, the blessed futures their hearts desire…
Rachel Kauffman and Jarred Zimmerman seem to have nothing in common. She’s the outgoing youngest of a large, close-knit Amish clan, and longs to raise a brood of her own near those she loves. Estranged from his family by tragedy, Jarred is a young veterinarian who trusts the animals he heals far more than he trusts people. However, when Rachel’s beloved horse falls ill, Jarred’s struggles to save him show Rachel he’s a man who cares deeply. And the respect he feels for her gentle warmhearted ways soon becomes an irresistible bond…
When Rachel tries to help Jarred reunite with his parents, it is an unexpected blessing–with one complication. If he takes this chance to put his past to rest, it could separate him and Rachel for good. Now, with prayer, love–and her hope chest’s small miracles–Jarred and Rachel must find the courage to reconcile their wishes into a joyous life together.

Paperback, 352 pages                      Published April 25, 2017, by Zebra

 

My review:  I really, really wanted to love this book. I had been anxiously awaiting its release since I read Annie’s Recipe, the second book in the series. However, the book fell short of my expectations and left me with mixed feelings.

I liked Rachel and Jarred, the two main characters of the book, but didn’t find them to be very complex. I would have liked to have seen them a bit more developed and maybe not quite so naive. Rachel seemed younger than her eighteen years and Jarred at times seemed younger than his twenty-four years, especially considering all that he had been through in his life.

From the description on the back of the book, I thought I would really enjoy the storyline. Once I started reading the book I thought there wasn’t as much substance to the story as I would have liked. I wanted more depth to the story. I also felt at times that the writing wasn’t very smooth and the story seemed choppy and there wasn’t a natural flow to it.

I didn’t think this was a totally bad book though. I did enjoy the story and thought it was a nice, sweet read. I think the book would be great for readers who are teenagers or young adults.

I was provided a free copy of this book and was not required to write a positive review. All opinions are mine.

 

About the author:  Lisa Jones Baker grew up near a small Amish town in Illinois that she frequented with her family on weekends. She’s also a dog lover and a fan of Scottsdale, Arizona, where she spent nearly two decades. Lisa graduated from Illinois State University with a French major, has been on 5 out of 7 continents, and considers her parents the best in the world. Raised in a Christian home, Lisa has always been blessed with love and support.

Website   •   Facebook

 

Leave a Reply

