A Trail of Crumbs: A Novel of the Great Depression by Susie Finkbeiner (review by Cathy)

A Trail of Crumbs

 

About the book:

“I believed it would have been a sin to stay inside when God had sent us such fine weather. According to Pastor Ezra Anderson, sin was the reason we’d got in the dusty mess we were in. The way I saw it, that day was God’s way of letting us know He wasn’t mad at us anymore. Just maybe He’d seen fit to forgive us.”

Pearl Spence has been through more in her young life than most folks could handle. But through it all, her family has been by her side. They may not be perfect, but they love her and they all love each other, come what may. That’s one thing Pearl no longer questions.

But the end of her beautiful day signals the beginning of the end of her secure life.

Now her family is fleeing their Oklahoma wasteland. Pearl isn’t sure she’ll ever see home or happiness again. Are there any crumbs powerful enough to guide her back to the dependable life she once knew?

The strong narrative voice of Finkbeiner’s young protagonist from A Cup of Dust returns in this gritty yet hopeful sequel, sure to please her many fans.

My review (5 stars)

A Trail of Crumbs is truly  a compelling novel and one that I didn’t want to put down even when my eyes were letting me know that I needed to give them a rest.
I’ve loved Pearl Spence and her family since I first met them in, A Cup of Dust. Their story is pretty bleak yet somehow they get by and manage to share what little they have with others in the their Oklahoma town. The family takes what happiness that comes their way and makes the reader anxious to share it with them.
The resilience of the characters was one of the things that piqued my interest not just in this book but also in the first one.

There finally comes a day when Pearl and her family  decide to leave Red River and start over, away from the dust and the hardships they have faced.  I was so happy that Pearl’s best friend, Ray went on the journey with them.  I admit to being sad at the friends they had to leave behind and hope to see them in the next book in the series.

The author is a masterful story-teller and the story she tells is through the eyes of 10 year, Pearl. The excitement she feels as they travel seeing sites that she’d never dreamed of and the promise of hope warmed my heart and made me want everything to be alright for this family.  When the family arrives in Michigan I couldn’t wait to share in their new experiences and to find out what’s in store for them.

I liked the introduction of new characters, especially Uncle Gus and Aunt Carrie in this book and can’t wait to read more about them and everyone else in town in, A Song of Home the next book in this series.
This is a book that I’ll want to read again and one that I highly recommend to readers historical fiction and readers looking for a well written book.

I received this book through Kregel Blogger Tour, and was not required to give a positive review.

Leave a Reply

