Miles from Nowhere by Amy Clipston

miles from nowhere

 

It’s Thursday and time for a #tbt review!!  I have decided to share a review for one of Amy Clipston’s older books.  This was my first YA novel of Amy’s to read and I wasn’t disappointed.  Here’s my review and Happy Thursday and Happy reading!!!!

 

For Chelsea Morris life is perfect. It is the summer between high school and college and things couldn’t get any better. She has great friends, a part-time job she likes, a wonderful boyfriend, and to top it off, she was just named head costumer for the local theater’s production of Grease. She even has an assistant!

Things begin to change though when Chelsea’s friends and boyfriend are stuck working a lot of hours at their jobs and she finds herself alone or at the theater. There she meets Dylan, one of the actors in the play. Dylan could be described as the bad boy of the theater and he sets his sights on Chelsea. Even though she is warned about Dylan’s reputation from many people she is drawn to him. What starts out as an innocent friendship soon changes into a summer Chelsea won’t forget. The once responsible Chelsea soon finds herself making decisions she knows aren’t right but can’t seem to stop herself. Her family and friends notice the change in her but she shrugs it off to have her summer of fun. Can she stop her downward spiral before it’s too late?

I was given an advanced copy of this book to read and must admit I was a little hesitant at first. After all, I’m not exactly a young adult and I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy this book much or at all. Just a few pages in my mind was made up–I loved this book! This book captured my attention from the first page and I couldn’t put the book down. When life interrupted my reading I couldn’t wait to get back to reading to see what was going to happen next.

Miles from Nowhere is a great story told as just the right pace to keep the reader interested. The characters are well developed and authentic. The book has a good message that is delivered in a way that isn’t preachy or overbearing. Amy has a way of writing that makes you care about the characters and what is happening in their lives.

Miles from Nowhere is a good read for the young adult and not-so-young adult alike.

I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion which I have provided.

Leave a Reply

