Close to Home by Lily Everett (Sanctuary Island #5) (review by Kristi)

close-to-home

About the book:

The best journeys take us home….

When Tessa Alexander came to Sanctuary Island, she left behind a marriage to a man who didn’t love her the way she loved him. When she finally found the strength to set them both free, she discovered friendship and self-acceptance in her adopted hometown. Now she’s settled into a quiet life on her own—never expecting to see her husband again.

Johnny spent almost two years deep undercover, unable to let his wife into his cold, dangerous world. He’s shaken to the core when he comes home to find her gone. It’s painfully clear that Tessa is no longer the timid young woman he married—she’s become a force of nature, a brave and determined beauty. Johnny can’t let her go without a fight so he sets out to seduce his own wife. But will passion alone be enough to convince Tessa that her new life should include a second chance at happiness with a man who must learn to believe in love?

Kindle Edition, 304 pages                 Published February 7, 2017, by St. Martin’s Paperbacks

 

My review:  I wanted to like this book. I really did. I liked the premise of a story about a couple who are already married and trying to find their way back to each other. To me, it’s a fresher storyline than the usual hate/love relationships that end in marriage. However, this story just really fell flat and I was a bit bored with it.

First, I really didn’t find any kind of connection to either of the main characters. Tessa’s character, while newly independent seemed weak to me. Johnny, on the other hand, didn’t seem as strong as I would imagine an ex-military and ATF agent to be. They didn’t really seem to have too much chemistry between them and I really didn’t care if they stayed together or got divorced. They just had an odd relationship and it didn’t seem genuine or real to me.

The storyline never really stayed on pace for me either. There were parts where the story moved quickly but then other parts it seemed to drag on. There is suddenly an awkward second storyline involving Marcus and Quinn. I’m not quite sure if Marcus is a bad guy or a good guy and Quinn just seemed like someone who was out for a good time. The entire epilogue of the book was about these two so I’m wondering if the next book in the series will be about this couple. As I’ve already got the next book I shall soon see.

One of the redeeming qualities of this book is Patty, the owner of the Patty Cakes bakery. She was a delightful character and I liked how she was with Tessa, Johnny, and Marcus. She made Marcus seem human and showed a more gentle side of him than anyone else in the book.

I read this book as a standalone and I think most readers can. There doesn’t seem to be any backstory missing from the previous books or anything that led me to believe I would have enjoyed this story more had I read the previous books in the series.

I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley and was not required to write a review. All opinions are mine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

