My Heart Belongs in Fort Bliss, Texas: Priscilla’s Reveille by Erica Vetsch (review by Kristi)

my-heart-belongs-in-fort-bliss-texas

About the book:  Journey now to Fort Bliss in West Texas of 1874, where…
A Battle Is About to be Waged Between Two Hearts.

 
Fashion artist Priscilla Hutchens has a grudge against the army that has ruined her family and taken the people she holds most dear. When her twin niece and nephew are left orphaned at Fort Bliss, Texas, she swoops down on Fort Bliss to gain custody of them immediately.

There is just one thing standing in the way—Post surgeon Major Elliot Ryder, who is also the twins uncle, also claims the children and thinks he knows what is best for them.

Priscilla and Elliot will cross swords, but each will have to lay down arms if they are to find a lasting peace on which to form the family both are longing for.  Who will win the battle? Or will a truce be called for the sake of love and family?

Paperback, 256 pages                                     Published January 1, 2017, by Barbour Books

 

My review:  This was my first book by Erica Vetsch and it definitely won’t be my last. I loved everything about this book. I enjoyed the characters, the setting, the descriptions, the storyline. This book was just a really fantastic read.

I immediately liked Priscilla. She was well spoken (and outspoken at times), independent, and courageous. I thought Elliot was the perfect match for her. He was the kind of man ladies like to read about: a perfect gentleman, kind, caring, protective. I loved the chemistry between these two. They weren’t quite friends yet they weren’t enemies either. I really think under different circumstances they would have been attracted to each other without reservation. Along with Priscilla and Elliot, I really liked Fern. She was such a happy and sweet character. Her positive attitude was refreshing and she seemed good natured.

The descriptions in this book were so well-written that I could almost feel the Texas heat coming up off the pages. I felt many times like I was right there on the dry Texas land and was a part of the story. Whether riding horses, tending to the sick, or being out on patrol with the soldiers I always felt like I was “in” the story.

Even though the storyline of this book isn’t extremely original (I think I’ve probably read something along the lines of this one before) the author kept the story fresh and interesting. Her attention to detail and character development made the story interesting and one I felt connected to. I liked the theme running throughout the book of focusing on the positive and not letting bitterness control your life. The attitudes of Mrs. Bracken and Mrs. Crane exemplified this theme in a wonderful way.

This was a wonderful, quick, and easy read for me. I enjoyed the author’s writing and will definitely be looking for more of her work. Historical fiction fans won’t want to miss out on this book.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

 

About the author:  Even though Erica Vetsch has set aside her career teaching history to high school students in order to homeschool her own children, but her love of history hasn’t faded. Erica’s favorite books are historical novels and history books, and one of her greatest thrills is stumbling across some obscure historical factoid that makes her imagination leap. She’s continually amazed at how God has allowed her to use her passion for history, romance, and daydreaming to craft historical romances that entertain readers and glorify Him. Whenever she’s not following flights of fancy in her fictional world, Erica is the company bookkeeper for her family’s lumber business, a mother of two terrific teens, wife to a man who is her total opposite and yet her soul mate, and an avid museum patron.

Website   •   Twitter

Leave a Reply

