There’s Always More to Say by Lynda Young Spiro (review by Kristi)

there is always more to say.jpg

About the book:  Soho 1984: Two people meet and their worlds are changed forever. An unexpected meeting – a look that means their lives will never be the same again. In “There Is Always More To Say”, Lynda Spiro chronicles the lives of the couple through friendships, marriage, fleeting moments and snatched time. It is a passionate account about a connection between two people that never dies even when tested by distance and when life throws the unexpected at their feet. “The meeting of two personalities is like the contact of two chemical substances. If there is any reaction both are transformed.” C G Jung

Kindle Edition, 110 pages          Published April 21, 2016, by New Generation Publishing

 

My review:  The only way to sum up this story is by using the word “different”. I’m not sure I’ve ever read a story told in quite this way. I’m not sure this is the type of book I would want to read again. Not that it’s a bad book but it’s just not my cup of tea.

First off, the names of the two main characters are never revealed. They are simply “I” and “you”. I’m not sure secondary is the right word to use but the other characters are simply referred to as “Ashley”, “Sam”, “Alex”, and “my husband”. I really couldn’t connect to any of the characters or care about them because of this.

The entire story is told through letters (or maybe a diary) and retells the meeting and ensuring friendship between the two main characters. We really only know how “I” felt as we don’t hear much from the “you” character. Only the occasional text or email back to “I”. The story spans thirty years and there is so much repetition of things that is unnecessary. I lost count of how many times it is mentioned that they met in 1984.

This story is about a couple who meet by chance at work and become friends and perhaps there was longing on one person’s part to become more. Or at least that’s my take on the story. It was interesting to read how the two went from their first meeting to the present day. I wish the author would have gotten into the relationship more instead of repeating things so many times. More depth to the story would have definitely been a plus.

This wasn’t a bad story just very different from what I’m used to reading. This is a book I won’t soon forget because of this. If you are looking for a book that is not your ordinary type of read then pick this one up. You may be glad you did.

I received a free copy of this book from the author and was not required to write a review. All opinions are mine.

One thought on “There’s Always More to Say by Lynda Young Spiro (review by Kristi)

  1. Hi there Kristi, Thanks so much for having read and reviewed my book and for having posted it on your lovely blog.   I can only apologise profoundly for not having given you an author bio and details of where to buy the book. My bad! I’m so sorry.  Thanks again for having been so kind in agreeing to read and reiview. Have a good weekend. x Lynda Spiro

    http://www.ThereIsAlwaysMoreToSay.com  e-mail: lyndaspiro@yahoo.co.ukTwitter: @lyndaspiroInstagram: lyndaspiroTel: (+44) 20 7681 0765Mobile: (+44) 7971 991 959

    WordPress.com | twogirlsandabook2014 posted: “About the book:  Soho 1984: Two people meet and their worlds are changed forever. An unexpected meeting – a look that means their lives will never be the same again. In “There Is Always More To Say”, Lynda Spiro chronicles the lives of the couple throug” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

