Stars in the Grass by Ann Marie Stewart (review by Kristi)

stars-in-the-grass

About the book:  The idyllic world of nine-year-old Abby McAndrews is transformed when a tragedy tears her family apart. Before the accident, her dad, Reverend John McAndrews, had all the answers, but now his questions and guilt threaten to destroy his family. Abby’s fifteen-year-old brother, Matt, begins an angry descent as he acts out in dangerous ways. Her mother tries to hold her grieving family together, but when Abby’s dad refuses to move on, the family is at a crossroads. Set in a small Midwestern town in 1970, Abby’s heartbreaking remembrances are balanced by humor and nostalgia as her family struggles with—and ultimately celebrates—an authentic story of faith and life after loss.

Paperback, 320 pages         Published February 1, 2017, by Shiloh Run Press

 

My review:  I did something I don’t normally do before reading a book I’m to review. I read other reviews first and to be quite honest it made me unsure if I wanted to read the book. Why? Well, the reviews made the book seems depressing and sad and I don’t like to read books that fall into those two categories. Since I had agreed to read and review the book for the publisher I put aside my thoughts and started reading.

The premise of this book is quite simple: the struggles of a family to move on after tragedy strikes. The story is told through the eyes of nine-year-old Abigail, or Abby. The story isn’t told in a childish voice though as Abby was almost wise beyond her years. She is very observant and almost seemed to be another victim of the tragedy as her family at times was on the verge of spiraling out of control.

I thought the story seemed very realistic. The characters actions and feelings came across as realistic and not romanticized or exaggerated in any way. The story is basically the everyday events in this family’s lives and how each responded to grief in their own way. Each family member dealt with their grief in a different way and I thought that made the story seem more genuine.

The author’s writing style and way of telling a story made it easy to get “into” the story and stay interested until the end. The story flowed easily from chapter to chapter. While the story is sad and a bit depressing at times I found it easy to read and didn’t find myself wanting to put the book down.

This was a well-written book but just not my type of everyday read. If you are looking for a break from the genre you normally read or are wanting a bit of a sad read then pick up this book. You might find yourself enjoying it.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher and was not required to write a review.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Stars in the Grass by Ann Marie Stewart (review by Kristi)

  1. I just finished this book this morning. It’s not the kind of book I normally read. It was very well written. I can’t say that I enjoyed it. I had a lump in my throat the whole time I was reading. I feel like I need something light and fluffy to read now.

    Like

  2. I finished the book last night. I think it is a powerful story. It is intense and more for those who want to try and fathom what a family goes through during a terrible time like this. I think anyone going through this or a any kind of loss could not take the deep sadness of this at the same time. It certainly is a book to talk about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

