An Uncommon Courtship (Hawthorne House #3) by Kristi Ann Hunter (review by Cathy)

an-uncommon-courtship

About the book:

When her mother’s ill-conceived marriage trap goes awry, Lady Adelaide Bell unwittingly finds herself bound to a stranger who ignores her.

Lord Trent Hawthorne, who had grand plans to marry for love, is even less pleased with the match.  Can they set aside their first impressions before any chance of love I lost?

My review (5-stars)

Okay, so first I fell in love with the gorgeous cover.   After I started reading the book, I fell in love with the story.  This is the third book in the series and if you haven’t read the others, I think this would be okay as a stand alone. 

  As Adelaide and Trent find themselves in a marriage that they weren’t emotionally prepared for or expected we get to see a more realistic approach to marriage of convenience stories.  I appreciated the uncertainty they faced and how they dealt with it. 

Adelaide is possibly one of the most endearing characters I’ve read about in a while.  She’s very inexperienced in pretty much everything that other young ladies are.  As attention has been focused on her older sister, she’s been kind of ignored by her mother. Until her older sister gets married that is! 

Trent is such a sweet, kind and funny character!  I loved how his older brother helped him work through this new and unfamiliar stage in his life.  I loved watching him fall in love with his wife.

The unique  relationship between Trent and his staff is rather amusing as they played card games with the newly married couple. 

One of my favorite parts in the book is when Trent realizes that Adelaide doesn’t have calling cards so he orders them for her so she can call on people.  I have an odd fascination with calling cards by the way and I liked seeing him become more aware of her needs and trying to make her happy.

There is a slow build up in their relationship which results in an Uncommon Courtship indeed.

I know that this will be one of my favorite books in 2017.  If you haven’t read it, I think you most definitely should.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and have given my honest opinion.  

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

