The Amish Princess by Patrick E Craig (review by Kristi)

the-amish-princess

About the book:  Opahtuhwe, the White Deer, is the beautiful daughter of Wingenund, the most powerful chief of the Delaware tribe. She is revered by her people–a true Indian princess. Everything changes when the murderous Delaware renegade known as Scar brings three Amish prisoners to the Delaware camp. Jonathan and Joshua Hershberger are twin brothers that Scar has determined to adopt and teach the Indian way. The third prisoner is Jonas Hershberger, their father, who has been made a slave because he would not defend his family. White Deer is drawn to Jonathan but his hatred of the Indians makes him push her away. Joshua’s gentle heart and steadfast refusal to abandon the Amish faith lead White Deer to a life-changing decision and rejection by her people. In the end, White Deer must choose between the ways of her people and her new-found faith. And complicating it all is her love for the man who can only hate her.

Paperback, 340 pages                                 Published December 25, 2016, by P&J Publishing

 

My review:  I have to be quite honest here and start off by saying I didn’t think I was going to like this book. I was happy to receive it but then I just thought it wasn’t going to be my kind of read. But, boy oh boy, was I wrong! I absolutely loved this story and once I started reading I couldn’t put the book down.

I liked the mix of fictional characters in a nonfictional setting. It was interesting to learn of the early Amish settlements in America and the events that took place between the Indians and the “white people”. Patrick created characters that were easy to like even when they didn’t do what they should have. Even though Johnathan wasn’t a nice person at times it was easy to understand why he was the way he was. It was easy to relate to Joshua, too. Even though I cringed at some of the things the Indians did (and believe me, there were plenty of scenes where I know my mouth was hanging open) and didn’t agree with them it was once again easy to understand these people and have empathy for them.

Patrick E. Craig has a way with words and is a master storyteller. His descriptions and use of words in this book brought the story to life. The way the story is written it flows easily from chapter to chapter and kept me reading “just one more chapter” until I soon had the book finished.

If you are looking for a lighthearted Amish read then this isn’t the book for you. If you like history and deep, serious reads then this book is one you will enjoy and one you will think about long after reading the last page.

I received a free copy of this book from the author and was not required to write a positive review. All opinions are mine.

 

About the author:  Best-selling Author Patrick E. Craig is a lifelong writer and musician who left a successful career in the music industry after two albums on Warner Brothers Records and years of live performances in one of San Francisco’s most popular music groups to follow Christ in 1984. He spent the next twenty-six years as a worship leader, seminar speaker, and pastor in churches, retreats, seminars and conferences in the Western United States. In 2013 Harvest House published the first of his Apple Creek Dreams series, A Quilt For Jenna, followed by The Road Home and Jenny’s Choice. A Quilt For Jenna recently moved into the #1 bestseller in Amish Fiction on Amazon. His new book, The Amish Heiress is the first in his new series, The Paradise Chronicles.

Website   •   Facebook   •   Twitter

One thought on “The Amish Princess by Patrick E Craig (review by Kristi)

  1. Cathy, I’m like you I loved reading The Amish Princess. The deep history and characters has stayed me since I read it at the end of December. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this over the top Amish genre books. One of the best ones I’ve read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

