The Pattern Artist by Nancy Moser (review by Cathy)

the-pattern-artist

About the book:

Born into a life of hard work, English housemaid Annie Wood arrives in New York City in 1911 with her wealthy mistress. Wide-eyed with the possibilities America has to offer, Annie wonders if there’s more for her than a life of service. Annie chooses to risk everything, taps into courage she never knew she had, and goes off on her own, finding employment in the sewing department at Macy’s. While at Macy’s Annie catches the eye of a salesman at the Butterick Pattern Company.

Through determination, hard work, and God’s leading, Annie discovers a hidden gift: she is a talented fashion designer—a pattern artist of the highest degree. As she runs from ghosts of the past and focuses on the future, Annie enters a creative world that takes her to the fashion houses of Paris and into a life of adventure, purpose, and love.

My review (5 stars)

The Pattern Artist is the interesting story of Annie Wood and her desire to make a better life for herself.  The authors writing made me see the world through Annie’s eyes.  I could envision Annie’s awe and excitement as she experiences her view of New York City for the first time.  I could also feel her determination in making her dreams come true.  I must admit to being rather impressed with the spunk she, Danny and his sister possessed in leaving the shelter of their home to make better lives for themselves.

As the story progressed, it became clear that Annie’s strong faith is what kept her moving towards her dreams.  I truly found that to be very refreshing.  I loved “seeing” Macy’s department store through her eyes the first time she saw it.  When she got her job there, I was just as excited as she was.

I liked the characters Ms. Moser created, especially Sean. I started to look forward to his visits to sell Butterick patterns to the store.  The female friendships were strong and had realness to them. Edna and Maude were perfect and I looked forward to their interactions with Annie.

There was only one thing in the book that really broke my heart and I had to stop reading for a while to process it.

I’m hoping that this is the first in a series because I really am not ready to say goodbye to Annie, Sean, Edna and Maude.  It seems like they may embark on a new adventure and I want to be part of it.

I received copy of this book from Netgalley and have given my honest opinion.

 

5 thoughts on “The Pattern Artist by Nancy Moser (review by Cathy)

Leave a Reply

