Kristi’s Top 10 of 2016

Hard to believe another year is just about over.  This year I participated in the Goodreads Challenge and set my goal for 75 books.  I exceeded that goal and ended up reading 92 books this year.  There were a lot of really good reads in those 92 books.  Now I will attempt to pick my favorite 10 from the list of 92.  Without further ado, here are my top 10 reads of 2016

(Click on the title to see my full review of each book.)

10.  Sarah’s Surrender by Vickie McDonough

Sarah's Surrender

I like reading books about strong, independent women and this book hit the spot.  A well-written story of a young woman trying to make it on her own during the 1901 land lottery.  An entertaining and educational read.

9.  A Haven on Orchard Lane by Lawana Blackwell

A Haven on Orchard Lane

My first book by this author but definitely not my last.  I was sad to leave these characters and Orchard Lane once I was finished with the book.  This is one I would like to read again someday.

8.  My Sister’s Prayer by Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould

my-sisters-prayer

Clark and Gould are a super duo when it comes to writing stories with dual storylines.  The second installment in the Cousins of the Dove series is a fantastic read.  Set aside some free time to read this book. Once you start you won’t want to put this book down.

7.  Sit Stay Love by Dana Mentink

sit stay love

Cute and somewhat out of control dog? Check.  Baseball?  Check.  Romance?  Check.   This book has a little something for everyone.  Dana Mentink creates characters and storylines readers will fall in love with.  This book is a cute and fun read.

6.  From This Moment by Elizabeth Camden

from this moment

Another book with a strong and independent female lead.  Elizabeth Camden is great at writing about women who are easy to relate to and cheer on.

5.  Titus Returns by Amy Lillard

titus-returns

My absolute favorite Amy Lillard book.  A well-written story about redemption and starting over.  You don’t have to be a fan of Amish fiction to enjoy this story.

4.  The Pattern Artist by Nancy Moser

the-pattern-artist

This was a very quick read for me.  Another book about a strong female character.  This was my first book by this author and it definitely won’t be the last.

3. Mrs. Lee and Mrs. Gray by Dorothy Love

Mrs Lee and Mrs. Gray

A book that entertains you and makes you think.  Dorothy Love is one of my favorite historical fiction authors.  This book is must-read.

2.  The Cherished Quilt by Amy Clipston

the-cherished-quilt

Amy Clipston is an amazing author and I love all of her books.  The Cherished Quilt is her best writing to date.  This book is awesome!

 

And now, my favorite read of 2016 is………

Don’t Speak by J.L. Brown

dont-speak

I just can’t say enough about this book.  I was shocked that this was a debut novel because it is so well written.  I kept thinking about this story and the characters for weeks after I finished reading the book.  I can’t wait to read the next Jade Harrington novel.  Don’t Speak has put anything by J.L. Brown on my “must read” list.

 

2016 was a good year for reading and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for 2017.  Happy New Year to you and as always, Happy Reading!!!!!

Leave a Reply

