Twelve Bells by Bridgett Lesllie (review by Kristi)

twelve-bells

About the book:  In her struggle to heal the emotional torment caused by her ex-fiancé, Lynette Frank attends a speed-dating event to give herself a psychological edge in her quest to find the right man. Each man she meets challenges her to fully resurrect her dating life. But is it all too much too soon?

Kindle Edition, 49 pages                               Published September 11, 2016

 

My review:  I went into reading this book blindly. I had no idea what the story was about and was surprised to learn it was about a woman who goes on speed dates at the encouragement of her sister. I wasn’t sure if I would like a book about speed dating but the author’s writing style soon had me drawn into the story.

The main character, Lynette, is easy to like and have empathy for. Even though I’ve never participated in speed dates I found the writing of these dates to be very believable and entertaining. The author did a wonderful job of creating twelve different men for Lynette to date. Each man imparts a bit of wisdom and makes Lynette see her relationship with her ex in a different light.

I wouldn’t consider myself a fan of novellas but I enjoyed this one. I really liked the author’s writing style and found she packed a lot into 49 pages. There is enough depth to the story to make it interesting and enough emotion to make me feel connected to the characters.

Bridgett Leslie is a new author to me and I will be on the lookout for more of her work. I am hoping she will write a novel for readers to really see her writing talent.

I received a free copy of this novella from the author and was not required to write a positive review. All opinions are mine.

About the author:  Bridgett Leslie is the winner of the 2014 British-Australian Community Literary Award and also the 2015 joint winner for the SAMPAD International Writing competition. Currently, she contributes to media for the United Nations Association of Australia, an official entity of the United Nations. Bridgett is a qualified finance professional and currently based in Australia.
      Twitter
Contact the author:  bridgett.leslie@gmail.com
Leave a Reply

