An Amish Family Christmas (The Charmed Amish Life #4) by Shelley Shephard Gray (review by Cathy)

an-amish-family-christmas

About the book:

In Shelley Shepard Gray’s fourth book in her Charmed Amish Life series, an unlikely Amish romance reveals that Christmas is a time for family, miracles—and love.

Ever since his father died in a tragic fire, Levi Kinsinger has felt adrift. Newly returned to Charm, Ohio, Levi is trying to fit into his old life, only to discover he seems to have outgrown it.

But when Julia, his young widowed neighbor, asks for his help with a Christmas project, Levi finds a sense of purpose for the first time in months. She and her daughter are new to Charm and could use a friend, a job Levi takes personally. Soon enough, friendship grows into attraction, but Levi can’t help having doubts. There’s something about Julia that doesn’t ring quite true…

Like Levi, Julia Kemps has survived her fair share of hardships—but only by hiding the truth of her past. Being an unmarried mother in an Amish community was unthinkable. Feeling hopeless, Julia did the only thing she could do: she moved to a new town and pretended to be a widow. But meeting Levi, she’s hopeful for the first time. Little by little, she begins to imagine telling him her darkest secret, and eventually…perhaps even sharing her life with him.

Christmas is a time for family, and as the holiday draws closer, Julia and Levi will have to face their pasts together…in order to find the healing, support and love they so desperately desire.

My review: (5 stars)

It’s my favorite time of the year.  The holiday season is upon us, Shelley Shephard Gray has a new Christmas and book and I finally sat down to read it!  I’d been saving it because I knew it would be a treat to read closer to Christmas.  I was right, it was worth the wait.

  It sure was a pleasure returning to Charm and catching up with the Kinsinger family.

They’ve had their struggles throughout the series and how they’ve worked through them has been the focus in the 4 books in the series. I’ve liked that each one of the siblings have had their story told and how it’s brought the family together as they’ve dealt with both losses and successes.

Levi is the focus of this story and even though he hasn’t always been my favorite character, the author certainly changed my view of him in this book as I saw how he had dealt with his grief.   I discovered he really is a good and caring person.

I loved Julia and her daughter, Penny. My heart went out to Julia and I couldn’t imagine what it would feel like to live in fear.

I appreciated that the friendship between Levi and Julia progressed slowly and naturally, especially given their circumstances. 

The strong message of faith, love and family has been prevalent throughout and in the final book it’s what brings the family together at the most wonderful time of the year.

The author has a gift for crafting strong characters, wonderful dialogue and storylines that I’ve always been drawn to and she has exceeded my expectations in An Amish Christmas.

Of course, I’m sad to say goodbye to the Kinsinger family which is why I’ll read this series again at some point.

 

2 thoughts on “An Amish Family Christmas (The Charmed Amish Life #4) by Shelley Shephard Gray (review by Cathy)

Leave a Reply

