Titus Returns by Amy Lillard (review by Kristi)

titus-returns

About the book:  In Wells Landing, Oklahoma s warm and welcoming Amish community, there s always hope for a new beginning and a second chance ”
Five tumultuous years have changed Titus Lambert in every way. Back then, Titus was preparing to marry his longtime sweetheart, Mandy Yoder. Then came the unthinkable a tragic car wreck that left Titus serving time for vehicular manslaughter.
Titus isn’t sure he belongs in this peaceful place anymore, but he must make amends. When he goes to visit the Kings, whose son, Alvin, died that terrible night, he s shocked to see that their farm has fallen into disrepair. Alvin’s sister, Abbie, resents Titus s reappearance, but there s no denying she needs his help. Honest toil and their evolving friendship slowly help his soul to heal. But with his feelings for Mandy still strong, Titus must choose between two very different futures, and find the strength and faith to claim the surprising gift of a fresh start.

Paperback, 352 pages                                 Published December 27, 2016, by Zebra

 

My review:  Titus Returns is a touching story of starting over and forgiveness. Broken characters and a poignant storyline made this the best Amy Lillard book I’ve ever read. Once I started reading I just couldn’t put this book down.

The characters in this book touched me. The way Amy wrote about Titus it was easy to understand his feelings of not belonging and trying to adjust to life out of prison. While he goes back to his Amish community he doesn’t really feel as if he belongs and at the same time doesn’t feel as if he belongs in the Englische world either. It was so easy to feel the conflict going on inside of Titus as he tried to adjust to life on the outside. Abbie King was another character easy to understand. It was easy to understand her feelings of despair as she tried to hold her family together and keep the farm up and running. Abbie had a lot on her shoulders and the arrival of Titus didn’t make things easier. It was easy to understand her attitude towards him and the situation she was in. Mandy was a character I had mixed feelings about. While I understood her feelings I thought she was a bit too forward and I times I was embarrassed for her.

I loved the natural way the story progressed. I liked how the characters struggled to deal with the past and the present and tried their best to make the future better. Their issues were real and the way that they dealt with them was very organic. It made the story believable and authentic.

This book is my favorite of the Wells Landing books. I felt connected to these characters from the beginning and wanted them to find their happily-ever-after. I definitely recommend this to fans of Amish fiction or anyone looking for a really good read. Set aside some time to read this book because once you pick it up you won’t want to set it down.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review. All opinions are mine.

 

About the author:  I’m a wife, mother, and bona fide Southern belle. Published author, expert corn bread maker, and Squirrel Princess.

I live in Tulsa, though I was born in Mississippi. I moved to the Sooner State when I was seventeen and met my soul mate and best friend not long after. I’ve retained a little of my Mississippi accent though most people think I’m from Texas. (?) Rob and I have been married for over twenty years and have a son–a mom proclaimed prodigy, of course!

I love homemade tacos, nail polish, and romance novels–not necessarily in that order. I’m a big fan of country music, a staunch proponent of saving the Oxford comma, and I’m shamefully obsessed with all things Harry Potter.

I believe that God is love. I guess that’s why I adore romances.

I have always been intrigued with the Amish culture, their gentle ways and slower-paced lifestyle. (And I love, love, love the fact that they stay married for their lifetime.) But until recently I never thought to blend this interest with my penchant for romance. Okay, okay, I’m a bit old-fashioned and even enjoy the gender roles that are present in this culture. I love to cook and take care of my family. Yes, that’s me June Cleaver with a laptop.

Website   •   Facebook   •   Twitter

One thought on “Titus Returns by Amy Lillard (review by Kristi)

Leave a Reply

