The Candidate by Lis Wiehl with Sebastian Stuart (review by Kristi)

the-candidate

About the book:  How far would a candidate go to become President of the United States?

In covering the presidential election campaign, star newsmaker Erica Sparks notices that favored candidate Senator Mike Ortiz seems dependent on his wife to an unnatural degree. Celeste Ortiz is a brilliant and glamorous billionaire who—along with her best friend and confidant Lily Lau—has engineered her husband’s meteoric rise. The White House is within their reach. But the more Erica investigates the Ortizes’ strange relationship, the more intrigued she becomes.

Erica begins an investigation. But everyone material to her probe ends up dead. With each death, her foreboding grows. Is she next? And can she find out in time if the country’s beloved candidate is what he seems . . . or a threat to national security?

Hardcover, 352 pages       Published October 18, 2016, by Thomas Nelson

My review:  Wow! What an entertaining read from Lis Wiehl. This book was a quick read for me and had me turning pages as fast as I could to find out what would happen next. Politics and the news combine perfectly for an edge of your seat, must-read book.

This book made me feel as if I was getting a behind the scenes look in the news world and in the political world. Erika Sparks is a character women can relate to. She is strong yet flawed. She takes her job seriously and wants to be at the top of her field. At the same time she also wants to be the perfect mom to her daughter and the struggle she faces trying to do both jobs is well documented in the story. While I instantly liked Erika, Celeste Ortiz and Lily Lau were characters I immediately didn’t care for. The author did a great job of giving each character their own personality that really stood out throughout the book. One character I would have liked to see more of was Josh Walters. I immediately liked him and thought his calm personality was a great balance to Erika’s more uptight persona.

This book takes place in many different places as Erika follows Mike Ortiz on the political trail. I really felt like I was in all those places. From the streets of New York City to San Francisco, Dubai, and Iraq, I felt like I was a part of this story. There are some really intense scenes that take place in Iraq and they were so well written it was like I was there.

I was most impressed with the author’s word choices and descriptions. One of my favorite quotes from the book is on page 50, “Often, the more people try to conceal, the more they reveal.” This sentence conveys a lot of what will happen in the story and makes the reader stop and think at the same time. Another wonderful description can be found on page 63, “She’s got a pebble in her psychic shoe, and she knows she won’t be able to rest until she can shake it out.” Descriptions such as this made the story so interesting to read. To me this description really lets the reader know how aggravating the thought in her head was to her until she could get it to the forefront of her mind.

This book is well-written and has a great flow to it. Several times I planned to read just until the end of the chapter but then the chapter would end with a sentence that made it impossible to put the book down. Lis Wiehl knows how to grab a reader’s attention and not let it go.

Political junkies, news junkies, and suspense lovers are sure to enjoy this book. Lis Wiehl has now been added to that list of “must read authors” I have. In fact, I purchased the first book in this series, The Newsmakers, before I was finished with this one. Don’t worry though, this book reads great as a standalone. I can’t wait for more Erika Sparks books!

I received a free copy of this book from Book Look Bloggers. All opinions are mine.

I review for BookLook Bloggers

About the author:  Lis Wiehl is the author “Face of Betrayal,” a New York Times Best Seller.

She has also written “Winning Every Time: How to Use the Skills of a Lawyer in the Trials of Your Life” and “The 51% Minority: How Women Still Are Not Equal and What You Can Do About It.”

In addition to her written work, Wiehl is currently a legal analyst for Fox News. She has been with the network since 2001.

A graduate of Harvard Law School, Wiehl is an adjunct professor at New York Law School.

Website   •   Facebook   •   Twitter

Leave a Reply

