Cowboy Christmas Homecoming: Four Historical Novellas (review by Cathy)

cowboy-christmas

About the book:

Glad tidings, hearts binding.

They’ve weathered a lot worse than winter. For widow June Harper, another cold front is about to hit. Most call him Hugh. She’d call him Scrooge, except as the man ensures her needs are met, June can’t help but wonder how to meet the needs of his heart.

Netty Lewis can take care of herself, has for a while now. Some hired help over the holidays doesn’t change that. And even if Roy does take care of her, that doesn’t mean he cares for her or that he’ll stay past Christmas.

Pastor Colton McCabe is having the opposite problem. He’s not sure he’ll make it through the holidays with his new housekeeper. Grace can’t seem to do anything right but love. Perhaps being a homekeeper will earn her a permanent residence in his heart.

And no one longs for a home more than Connie Lancaster. She’s determined to return to St. Louis, and no cowboy can change her mind. But if Isaac can change her heart, maybe Connie will see the homecoming she’s been waiting for isn’t to a place but a person

 

My review:

Oh how I loved this book!   Four fantastic stories by four fantastic authors makes one fantastic book.

Last Chance Christmas by Julie Lessman really was a fun read.  I loved Grace O’Malley and wanted the best for her.  She was so endearing to me and I wanted her to become just as endearing to Pastor McCabe. This novella has wonderful characters and an equally wonderful storyline.

A Cowboy for Christmas by Ruth Logan Herne had me engaged from the very beginning.  I found this story to be unique and unexpected.  I loved June and all of the characters that the author so lovingly crafted.

Longhorn Christmas by Mary Connealy made me feel many emotions.  They were all good emotions, too.  I loved Netty and her precious son, Jeremiah.

Connie’s Christmas Prayer by Anna Schmidt was great, too.  I liked Connie and enjoyed this story quite a bit.

Overall, this was one of my favorite books that I’ve had the pleasure of reading so far this year.  Stories of hardship, new beginnings and most of all, seeing how the characters overcome whatever life has thrown their way.  They don’t shy away from hard work and making the best of what they have.

Clean and well written novellas that will take you back to a time where life can be harsh, but with faith you can overcome many things. This is a book that I will definitely read again and will purchase for gifts.  I received a copy of this book from the publisher through Netgalley and have given my honest opinion.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Cowboy Christmas Homecoming: Four Historical Novellas (review by Cathy)

Leave a Reply

