Twilight at Blueberry Barrens by Colleen Coble (review by Kristi)

twilight-at-blueberry-barrens

About the book:  I need you to keep these girls safe . . .

Kate Mason has devoted herself to caring for her family s blueberry barrens. But after her fields stop producing fruit, she s forced to come up with alternative ways to make a living.

Renting out the small cottage on her property seems an obvious choice, but it won’t be enough. When entrepreneur Drake Newham shows up looking not only for a place to rent but also for a nanny for his two nieces, it’s almost too good to be true. And maybe it is because Drake brings with him dangerous questions about who might be out to kill his family.

The more time Kate spends with Drake and the girls, the more difficult it becomes to hide her attraction to him. But a family crisis isn’t exactly the ideal time to pursue a romance.

Meanwhile, Kate learns that her uncle in prison for murder has escaped. Add to that a local stalker who won’t leave her alone, and Kate is looking over her shoulder at every turn. With threats swirling from multiple directions, she wonders if her blueberry fields will ever flourish again . . . or if this twilight is her last.

Set on the beautiful coast of Maine, Twilight at Blueberry Barrens brings together suspense, romance, and the hope that one day new life will come again.

Kindle edition, 352 pages                        Published September 20, 2016 by Thomas Nelson

 

My review:  If you’re looking for a romance novel this is not the book for you. If you’re looking for a book so full of suspense and moments that make you want to get up and close all the curtains in your house, then this IS the book for you! Colleen Coble has written, in my opinion, her best book yet! Twilight at Blueberry Barrens will keep you on the edge of your seat and turning the pages as quickly as you can (and closing those aforementioned curtains).

While this book grabbed me from the beginning it took me a few pages to get everyone straightened out. It had been a minute since I read the second book in the series and I just needed to reacquaint myself with everyone. (I will admit I haven’t read the first book in the series, and so, at times, felt like I was missing out on Kate and Claire’s backstory. The first book is definitely on my tbr list.)

The characters in the book are so well developed I soon forgot they were fictional. They had such a realness about them that added to the authenticity of the story. I thought Kate was very brave. Had I been in her shoes I would have skedaddled right on out of there at the first sign of trouble. Drake was the perfect balance to Kate’s character and I really enjoyed the interactions between the two. Their relationship developed in a natural way and didn’t seem forced or contrived.

Colleen Coble is a wonderful storyteller and the timing of events in this book was perfect. There was just the right amount of suspense and buildup to the climax. I have to say I was completely shocked to find out who the antagonist was. I didn’t see any clues to make me think I even had an inkling of who it was and I loved the total element of surprise there. I also liked the romantic thread that was woven into the suspense-filled story. It was just a natural part of the story and didn’t seem out of place.

I have had the honor of meeting Collen Coble at a book signing and found her to be such a sweet lady. But oh boy can she write a book that makes your heart beat a little faster, makes you want to get up and make sure the doors are locked and maybe, just maybe, scares you some, but in a good way. I like to think of her as the Mary Higgins Clark of the Christian fiction world and I can’t wait to read her next book!

I received a free copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

I review for BookLook Bloggers

 

About the author:  USAToday bestselling author Colleen Coble lives with her husband, Dave, in Indiana. She is the author of dozens of novels including the Rock Harbor Series, the Aloha Reef Series, the Mercy Falls Series, the Hope Beach Series, the Lonestar Series and two Women of Faith fiction selections, Alaska Twilight and Midnight Sea. She has more than 2 million books in print.

Website   •   Facebook    •  Twitter

One thought on “Twilight at Blueberry Barrens by Colleen Coble (review by Kristi)

  1. This was INDEED a wonderful book! I’m thankful that Colleen is not as scary as Mary Higgens Clark! LOVED this whole series!!!! She definitely grabs your attention and keeps it! It’s hard to put down until you finish it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

