My Sister’s Prayer (Cousins of the Dove #2) by Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould (review by Kristi)

my-sisters-prayer

About the book:  Women of Fearless Devotion Virginia, 1705 Celeste Talbot is usually such a sensible young woman–until she falls for an English soldier reassigned to the Colonies. Leaving her Huguenot family behind, she sets sail for America, only to learn that her younger sister Berta has been kidnapped and forced on board the very same ship. Whom can Celeste trust? The dashing soldier? Or the vigilant carpenter who remains by their side in the perilous New World? Virginia, present day Madeline “Maddee” Talbot has her hands full when she agrees to take in her younger sister Nicole following a serious car accident. The young women grew apart when Nicole fell into drug addiction, and Maddee prays this will be the start of a better life for her sister. But as they investigate a trauma from their childhood, Maddee must keep a diligent eye on Nicole–and the shadowy figure watching them from afar. From the Christy Award-winning team of Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould, My Sister’s Prayer tells the epic tale of two women compelled to protect their sisters, confront their fears, and navigate the muddy waters of betrayal to find true love.

Paperback, 368 pages                    Published September 1, 2016 by Harvest House Publishers

 

 

My review:  The awesome writing duo, Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould, team up once again to bring us the second book in the Cousins of the Dove series. What a read this book is! An interesting and emotional storyline combined with fantastic writing made this book one of the best I’ve read this year.

I am not a big fan of co-authored books or books that contain dual storylines and time periods. These two authors are quickly changing my mind, though. Clark and Gould’s writing is so seamless it is as if they become one person while writing. The way they told the stories of the two sets of sisters, one modern day and one in the 1700’s, made the book interesting and kept my attention from beginning to end. I loved all of the historical detail in the book. It made me feel like I was there and made the story more real. I had not really heard of indentured servants until this book and it was interesting to read about these people who weren’t slaves but weren’t free, either.

These two ladies have created characters that are impossible to not care about. Celeste and Maddee are strong yet vulnerable women. I enjoyed reading about these two women and how they dealt with the struggles they faced. Spenser quickly became one of my favorite characters in the book as he was there for Celeste when she needed him but at the same time, he wasn’t overbearing. On the other hand, Lieutenant Gray had me wanting to reach into the book and slap him. I enjoyed how the authors created characters that I could have such a range of emotion for.

After reading the first book in this series I didn’t think it could be topped. I was wrong as this book definitely surpassed my expectations. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series to find out what happens next!

I received a free copy of this book from the authors in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

 

About the authors: A former singer and stand-up comedian, Mindy lives with her husband and two teenage daughters near Valley Forge, PA. She enjoys speaking to churches, civic groups, and libraries across the country. Her unique blend of humor and insight make her an audience favorite.

Connect with Mindy Starns Clark:   Website

Leslie Gould is the #1 bestselling and Christy Award winning author of twenty-two novels. She received her MFA from Portland State University and teaches writing at Warner Pacific College. Leslie enjoys traveling, hiking, and history. She and her husband, Peter, are the revolving-door parents of four children and three cats.

Connect with Leslie Gould:   Website   •   Facebook   •   Twitter

One thought on “My Sister’s Prayer (Cousins of the Dove #2) by Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould (review by Kristi)

Leave a Reply

