Dance Over Me by Candee Fick (review by Kristi)

dance over me

About the book:  Danielle Lefontaine, a fledgling actress raised to the lullaby of Broadway, searches for her long-lost brother and her place on the stage, but a jealous cast member and numerous fruitless leads threaten to drop the curtain on her dreams and shine a spotlight on her longing for a place to belong.

Meanwhile, Alex Sheridan is living his dream except for someone to share it with. When Dani dances into his life, he hopes he’s found the missing piece to his heart but fears the bright lights of the stage could steal her away. Will the rhythm of dancing feet usher in their deepest desires or leave them stranded in the wings?

Paperback, 267 pages                                                            Publication date:  September 2016

 

My review:  Realistic characters and the smooth writing style of Candee Fick combine to make readers feel part of the story. It was so easy to block out my surroundings and fully immerse myself in this story of a young woman who is trying to find her brother but also navigate the not-so-nice dinner theater world. I was hooked from page one.

This book has a lot of characters in it but everyone had their own personality so it was easy to keep everyone straight in my mind. I never once had to go back and reread parts to see “who was who”. Dani is a well grounded young woman who took a lot from Gloria, another performer in the play, and handled herself much better than a lot of people would. She relied on her faith and to get her through and remained true to herself. Liz and Margaret were favorite characters as well because they befriended Dani and stuck by her side. I liked the way the friendship between Dani and Alex developed naturally and was authentic. This was fun to see.

I thought the author did a great job of describing the goings-on of the dinner theater. Everything was well described and added to the story while giving the reader a behind the scenes glimpse into this world. There are references to dance moves that while I have no idea what they are made the story more real while not being overdone. All of these elements enriched the story for me and made the book so enjoyable to read.

This was the first book by Candee Fick that I’ve read and I must say I love her writing style. The book was well-researched and well-written. It also has a great pace and easily flows from chapter to chapter making it easy and quick to read.

While this book isn’t marketed as a YA novel (or if it is, I missed it) I think this would be a great book for readers in the preteen age range and up to and including adults of all ages. The book has some great lessons woven into the story and I just feel like it would be the perfect read for preteen and teen girls, their moms, grandmas, aunts, and cousins. Even though I am certainly not a young adult I enjoyed this story and am anxiously awaiting more like it from this author. An author I am adding to my “must read” list, by the way.

I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given. All thoughts in this review are mine.

 

About the author:  Author of inspirational romance, non-fiction, and devotionals. Candee is married to a high school football coach and is the mother of three, including a child with special needs (thus providing inspiration for her first two non-fiction titles).

She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and a Double Finalist/Winner in the 2014 ACFW Genesis contest in the short novel category. Her debut novel is releasing in November 2015 from Bling! Romance.

 

Connect with Candee:    Website   •   Goodreads   •   Twitter

Leave a Reply

