Plain Choice by Sarah Price (review by Kristi)

plain choice

About the book:  Amanda’s husband, Cuban pop star Alejandro, believed he was doing right by his wife when he left her on her parents’ farm in the familiar shelter of Lancaster’s Amish community. Amanda, however, has other ideas. Unwilling to sit idly by and hide from the paparazzi, she follows her husband to Europe for the start of his world tour to find out if their marriage can be saved once and for all.

When the two reunite, it’s plain to see that their love is stronger than their differences. But as they travel together, Amanda is surprised to discover that her own fame is beginning to match her husband’s. Now she must struggle to bridge her Amish upbringing and a new, unasked-for role in the public eye. As other unexpected tensions challenge their bond, can Amanda and Alejandro keep their promises and make space for her faith, his fame, and a growing love?

Kindle Edition, 338 pages                           Published March 29, 2016 by Waterfall Press

 

My review:  There comes a time when every author needs to say goodbye to the characters they have created and loved and written about. I feel like Sarah Price was way overdue to bid farewell to Alejandro and Amanda. A fifth book wasn’t really needed in the series as it didn’t add to the story or the characters.

As I’ve stated in other reviews of books in this series, I thought the premise for the story was interesting. World-famous rapper meets Amish girl in unusual circumstances, they are attracted to each other and the story proceeds from there. However, this couple’s story progresses in ways that I didn’t find believable in the other books and continued on through this one.

First, I can’t recall any other celebrity’s spouse becoming as famous as them just because they are married. This was an unusual aspect of the story but I found the way it progressed to be too far-fetched and believable. While Amanda claims to be of the Amish faith she sure didn’t act like it and too easily gave in when it came to wearing the dresses picked out for her and having her makeup done, having a personal assistant, etc.

Another thing I thought odd was the way Amanda decided that it was ok for Viper to dance the way he did with the dancers and act the way he did with her. He seemed to use her for his benefit and didn’t really seem to care for her in a way that displayed love. She seemed more like a mother figure or servant to him instead of a wife using the Bible as the reason why. This just didn’t sit well with me. Are Amish women that easily swayed? And the way he didn’t listen to her about Enrique was just too dismissive for me. I would certainly keep on my husband if his friend was making me uncomfortable

My biggest problem with these two characters was the way they treated Isadora, Alejandro’s daughter. Amanda seemed critical of the way he didn’t interact with his daughter but was willing to leave her with her own family as she went off halfway around the world to be with her beloved Alejandro/Viper and then worried about whether or not that was the right thing.

This story seemed to be too long and drawn out. A lot of the story seemed to be the day to day lives of the two while on tour in foreign countries. After awhile the story didn’t seem new or interesting but just the same old thing over and over again. I found myself bored while reading this book.

While I still enjoy Sarah Price’s writing style and applaud her for thinking outside of the box when it comes to Amish stories I think this one was way too far out of the box for me. I prefer my Amish fiction to be centered more on their strong sense of family and community and also their strong relationship with God.

I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

 

About the author:  The author of over 30 novels, Sarah Price publishes with Realms, an imprint of Charisma House and Waterfall, an imprint of Brilliance Audio.

Her book, An Empty Cup, was #3 on Amazon Top 100 eBooks in January 2016.

Connect with Sarah Price:    Website   •   Facebook   •   Twitter

Leave a Reply

