The Quieting by Suzanne Woods Fisher (review by Kristi)

the quieting

About the book:  The Stoltzfus family faces serious problems, both in the church and at home. Everyone in the community expects minister David Stoltzfus to fix things–fast. But David doesn’t work fast. He prefers to wait for God to work in individual hearts. However, even he is left wondering if the solution to their most pressing problem might be a Quieting.
When David’s mother arrives, uninvited, more upheaval is in store. She has matchmaking plans for everyone in the family, including David and her eligible granddaughters–and especially for David’s niece Abigail. When Abigail stumbles onto a curious connection during her genealogical research, it could help David solve one problem–but will it create another?
Bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher takes fans back to Stoney Ridge, delivering the twists, turns, and romance they adore.

Kindle Edition      Published April 26,2016 by Revell

My review:  I didn’t know if I would like this book as much as the first book but I have to say I enjoyed it more! A cast of quirky and meddling characters and a flawed community made this book an interesting read. Come sit a spell and get to know the extended Stolzfus family, problems and all!

My favorite character in this book is Abigail “Gabby” Stoltzfus. Abigail would probably drive me crazy if she were a real person but I found her character endearing. I could totally relate to her awkwardness and her way of saying things that were somewhat too honest at times. I know she’s fictional but if there was some way to get her to swing by my house and use those organizational skills of hers, well, that would be great! I really enjoyed the way her relationship with Dane developed. I wasn’t sure if I would like him at the beginning but found him to be quite charming.

Jesse, another character I wasn’t sure about, is fast becoming one of my favorites. He has that kind of personality that makes him charming and he knows how to use this in his favor. I think his best side really shows in the way he thinks about his puppy and the way he wants to help people.

I really like Suzanne Woods Fisher’s writing style. Two things really caught my attention in this book. One was the way David’s mother was almost always referred to as Tillie Yoder Stoltzfus. The way each name is two syllables and when said together sound almost stern really captured Tillie’s attitude and personality. She was a force to be reckoned with. The second thing that caught my eye was the way certain things were referred to with capitalization. Instead of talking about the “black raspberry incident” it was referred to as the Black Raspberry Incident. The capitalization made the event seem much more important and somewhat dire and that really spoke to me as a reader. I loved reading Abigail’s lists too. This added touch was another way to see how Abigail really thought. These elements made the book entertaining and fun to read.

As I’ve mentioned in other reviews of Amish fiction books I imagine it is hard to keep writing fresh stories in a genre about people who live their lives under strict guidelines. Suzanne Woods Fisher has created complex characters who are flawed and a storyline that is unique and not what you expect from the genre. This is refreshing to me as a fan of the genre. I believe the Amish have much of the same issues as the non-English and it is nice to read about their problems and how they handle them. I don’t necessarily want all my Amish characters to be perfect.

If you like reading about characters with real-life issues then you will enjoy this book. It is well-written and fast paced, making it a quick read. It can be read as a standalone as enough backstory is provided to bring the reader up-to-date. However, I think it is best to read the first book then read this one to fully understand what is going on. A definite must-read for fans of the genre.

I received a free copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.
About the author:  Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling, award winning author of fiction and non-fiction books about the Old Order Amish for Revell Books, host of the radio-show-turned-blog Amish Wisdom, a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazine.

Her interest in the Amish began with her grandfather, who was raised Plain. A theme in her books (her life!) is that you don’t have to “go Amish” to incorporate the principles of simple living.

Suzanne lives in California with her family and raises puppies for Guide Dogs for the Blind. To her way of thinking, you just can’t life too seriously when a puppy is tearing through your house with someone’s underwear in its mouth.

Connect with Suzanne Woods Fisher:   Website    •   Facebook   •   Twitter
Leave a Reply

