Love Impossible by J.E.B. Spredemann (review by Kristi)

Love Impossible

About the book:  Life as Sarah once knew it no longer exists. When she is thrust into an impossible situation, she turns to God for help, but her prayers seem to go unanswered. When those closest to her offer advice, she feels she must do what is right. But there’s one problem. She can’t determine just what the right thing to do is. As years of deceit unfold, Sarah knows she must make a choice. Will she ultimately heed the advice of her loved ones, or will she choose an entirely different path that could result in losing everyone close to her?

Paperback, 218 pages           Published August 14, 2016 by Blessed Publishing

My review:  What starts out to be a simple act of a woman trying to stop an out of control buggy turns out to be so much more complicated than Sarah could ever imagine. Little does she know that her life is about to be turned upside down and all around and that everything she thought she knew isn’t so. Love Impossible is a story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

This is one of the most unusual stories I have read this year. It is certainly the most unusual story I have ever read in the Amish fiction genre. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I read the synopsis of the story. I sure wasn’t imagining what happened, that’s for sure!

This story had lifelike characters. Sarah has a big decision to make and I could understand how she felt conflicted. Mark seemed to be a bit of a jerk at times but then again I could understand his frustration and found myself wondering how I would deal with the situation if I were in his shoes.

A couple of things kept me from giving this book a higher rating and one of those is the fact that there wasn’t enough struggle (in my opinion) when Sarah was trying to make her choice. Yes, she didn’t know what to do and seemed to struggle in making her decision but I would have like to have had a bit more time spent on the details of her struggle and what she was thinking in making her choice. The other thing was once she made her decision there wasn’t any awkwardness between her and Jathan. Things were just too perfect and easy and it didn’t seem to be real to me. I believe there would have been more awkward moments and uneasiness between the two.

All in all, this was an interesting story and one that captured my attention. Those looking for a different kind of story will probably enjoy this one. It isn’t your typical Amish story.

I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

About the author: By the grace of God, J.E.B. Spredemann resides in beautiful Southern Indiana Amish country and writes Christian fiction. We hope our books uplift you, inspire you, make you laugh, and touch your heart.

Connect with J.E.B. Spredemann:   Website    •   Facebook

Leave a Reply

