The Bound Heart by Dawn Crandall (review by Kristi)

the bound heart

About the book:  One accidental kiss from Lawry Hampton. That was all it took to throw Meredyth Summercourt’s world upside-down. Determined to marry the ever-elusive Vance Everstone, she simply doesn’t have the time or the desire to fall for her best friend. But with Vance out of the country, and with Lawry at her side nearly every day, teaching her what the world is like through the eyes of a little orphan girl named Wynn–Meredyth can’t deny that what’s holding her to Vance is nothing more than a desire to redeem herself from her past.

Will she marry Vance once he returns from Europe? Or will she be strong enough to break free from the tangled web she’s convinced she deserves, and accept that God’s plan for her life includes redemption…and, quite possibly, Lawry Hampton?

My review: Immediately after finishing the first book in this series I began this one. I was a bit worried that I wouldn’t enjoy this one as much and would feel “let down”. This book is definitely as good as the first and I enjoyed it just as much.

I found this story to be a bit of a heavier read than its predecessor (and this isn’t a bad thing). The main characters in this book, while secondary in the first book, don’t have the lighthearted relationship they did in the first and there is a tension between the two that at times felt palpable. The story proceeded at a steady pace then built to a climax that left me on the edge of my seat. This story held my attention from beginning to end.

I love the way the author tells the story in the first person. This makes me feel as I’m even more part of the story. I loved this in the first book and was glad to see it continue in this one. Another thing I was glad to see continue was the chapter titles and quotes at the beginning of each chapter. They added to the story for me and gave me a chance to brace myself for the possibility of something good or bad happening. The quotes the author chose were perfect for each chapter.

This book could easily be read as a standalone, but I recommend reading The Hesitant Heiress first. Doing so will introduce you to all the characters and give you a chance to get to know them. This book is a very quick read and again I must advise you to clear your schedule because this is another book that is impossible to put down.

I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

About the author:    Dawn Crandall is an ACFW Carol Award nominated author of the award-winning series The Everstone Chronicles from Whitaker House. The series currently consists of three books: The Hesitant Heiress, The Bound Heart, and The Captive Imposter. The next “Everstone” book, The Cautious Maiden, will release October 4, 2016.Dawn is represented by Joyce Hart of Hartline Literary. Apart from writing books, Dawn is also mom to two precious little boys, and also serves with her husband in a pre-marriage mentor program at their local church in Fort Wayne, Indiana.

Connect with Dawn Crandall:   Website   •    Facebook   •    Twitter

Leave a Reply

