The Ringmaster’s Wife by Kristy Cambron(review by Cathy)

Ringmaster

What is revealed when you draw back the curtain of the Greatest Show on Earth? Rosamund Easling is no stranger to opulence. As the daughter of an earl, she’s grown up with every comfort money can buy. But when hard times befall the family’s Yorkshire estate in the aftermath of the Great War, Rosamund’s father sells her beloved horse, setting the stage for a series of events that would extend beyond even her wildest dreams.

Though expected to marry for a title instead of love, Rosamund feels called to a different life – one of adventure outside the confines of a ladies’ parlor. She abandons all she’s known and follows in pursuit as her horse is shipped to the new owner – an American entertainer by the name of John Ringling. Once introduced to the Ringling Brothers’ circus and knowing she has much to learn, Rosamund agrees to a bareback riding apprenticeship in the shadow of the Ringlings’ winter home—Ca’D’Zan. It is at that mansion, in what would become the last days of the enigmatic Mable Ringling’s life, that Rosamund finds a deeper sense of purpose in the life she’s been given, and the awakening of faith in her heart.

With a supporting cast of characters as mysterious and dazzling as the Ringlings’ big-top world, Rosamund’s journey takes her from the tradition of the English countryside to the last days of America’s Roaring ‘20s—a journey that forever changes what one life might have been.

My review:

What a fantastic book! The cover is beautiful, but the story itself was equally beautiful. My favorite character was Mable Burton from the very start and she continued to hold my interest throughout. I loved her as a child that dreamed and I loved the young woman she became as she followed her dreams and experienced a new and exciting life. When she met John Ringling she truly had a life that would haven’t been possible had she stayed on her family farm.

Rich with history of the beginning of the Ringling Brothers Circus the book includes fictional characters, too. Rosamund and Colin are two such characters and add a dimension that was needed as they traveled and worked with the circus.

The love that John and Mable shared and the lives they led were a joy to discover. This book is one that I will want to read again.

A definite must read for readers of both Historical and Christian Fiction genres.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and have given my honest opinion.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s