The Hawaiian Quilt by Wanda E. Brunstetter and Jean Brunstetter (review by Kristi)

The Hawaiian Quilt.jpg

 

About the book:  Join Mandy Frey as she and three friends leave their Amish community in Indiana for the trip of a lifetime to Hawaii. But when Mandy and one of her friends miss the cruise ship after a port of call on Kauai, how will they adjust and get back home? Find out in this brand new romance from New York Times bestselling author Wanda E. Brunstetter, writing with her daughter-in-law Jean Brunstetter.

Paperback 288 pages      Expected publication:  September 1, 2016 by Shiloh Run Press

 

My review:  When I read this book’s description I thought it sounded really interesting. Four Amish girls going far from home and two getting separated and stranded in Hawaii. I wondered how they would get back home and couldn’t wait to read the book and find out.

The first half of this book was a really quick read for me as I found it to be interesting to read about the girls’ trip across the country and then across the ocean to the islands of Hawaii. I liked all four girls and found each of them had their own personalities and it was fun to discover each. I found the descriptions of their sight-seeing to be well-written and it was easy to picture things and places as I was reading about them.

The second half of the book wasn’t as enjoyable for me. After the two become separated I found I didn’t really care for Mandy all that much and found the changes in her to be a bit off-putting. I found myself liking Ellen more and more because she seemed authentic and true to her roots.

The story goes back and forth between the girls’ destination and Indiana, where their families are. I liked this aspect as I found the parts that took place in Indiana really kept the Amish feel to the story. If not for this it would have been easy to forget this story was about Amish girls.

I also thought the writing in this book wasn’t as smooth as in other books by Wanda E. Brunstetter. There were a few times I found dialogue to be a bit awkward. I also found the story was maybe geared towards the young adult audience as most of the characters are in their early 20’s.

All in all, this was a book that I enjoyed reading and think fans of the genre will enjoy the story. It is a different story for the Amish fiction fan and would be a good introduction for younger readers to the genre.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

 

About the author:  A nationally recognized authority on the Amish community, Wanda E. Brunstetter has sold more than seven million copies of her fiction and nonfiction books. Wanda enjoys an uncommon kinship with the Amish and continues to visit their communities throughout the country. Her books have won numerous awards and topped several bestselling charts.

 

Connect with Wanda E. Brunstetter:    Website  •   Facebook

Leave a Reply

