A Heart Most Certain by Melissa Jagears (review by Kristi)

A Heart Most Certain.jpg

About the book:   While Lydia King’s reasons for joining the Teaville Moral Society might be suspect to some members, her heart is in the right place. Because of her father’s debts and her mother’s persistent illness, her best chance at a secure future and curing her mother is to impress the politician courting her. Her first task–to ask the town’s wealthiest man to donate–seems simple enough . . . until he refuses.

Despite appearances, Nicholas Lowe wants to help others, but prefers to keep his charity private. When Lydia proves persistent, they agree to a bargain, but Nicholas still intends to do things his own way. Neither predicts what they’ll learn about true charity or foresee the complications their actions will bring to the town, forcing Lydia to decide where her beliefs and heart truly align.

 

Purchase on Amazon

My review:  I really liked the cover of this book and thought the description sounded interesting. However, after starting the book my feelings became conflicted. I wanted to like the story and did really enjoy some parts but the book didn’t completely capture my attention as I thought it would.

When I first started the book I liked Lydia. I thought she had a great personality and I liked the way she interacted with Nicholas. I wasn’t quite sure what to make of Nicholas and decided to hold off on forming any strong opinions. The further I got into the book though my feelings towards these characters changed. I didn’t care for Lydia as much as at the beginning but found myself liking Nicholas more and more. Nicholas seemed more dimensional and had more layers to reveal than Lydia did. I did sympathize with her situation of having to marry for reasons other than love. Her fiance, Sebastian, and his family were so easy to dislike.

I liked the storyline of the book and found it to be thought-provoking. There are so many things for readers to ponder while reading. I found it interesting to discover all the “secrets” about Nicholas and how he wasn’t who people thought he was. I would have liked to see a bit more consistency in the pace of the book, though. At times the story moved quickly and at other times I thought it was moving too slow and I found myself losing interest. I enjoyed the second half of the story much more than the first half.

If you are into thought-provoking reads then I think you will enjoy this book. It would be a great book club read or to read on your own.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

About the author: Much to her introverted self’s delight, Melissa Jagears hardly needs to leave her home to be a homeschooling mother and historical romance novelist. She doesn’t have to leave her house to be a housekeeper either, but she’s doubtful she meets the minimum qualifications to claim to be one in her official bio. Her passion is to help Christian believers mature in their faith and judge rightly.

Connect with Melissa Jagears:  Website  •  Facebook  •  Pinterest

Leave a Reply

