A Dream of Miracles by Ruth Reid (review by Kristi)

A Dream of Miracles

About the bookAmish widow Mattie vows never to love again . . . until a suspicious outsider with a shadowy past comes crashing into her fragile world.

Mattie Diener can barely keep it together. A young Amish widow and mother of two young children, she faces the lingering heartbreak of lost love, her son’s mysterious illness, and a torrent of accusations that threaten to undo her.

Bo Lambright is a fast-rising social services investigator whose high-society mother won’t rest until she finds his Mrs. Right. Despite Bo’s worldly success, the raw ache of a shadowy past and a series of unsettling dreams have left him reeling.

When Mattie and Bo cross paths, all signs point to disaster. Yet as they face a crucible of trials and tragedies together, longings begin to stir that seem destined only to end in more heartbreak. Is a miracle possible—not only of healing but of forbidden love? What secrets lie in Bo’s dreams? And will Mattie find the courage to face her uncertain future . . . or will she simply run away?

Paperback, 336 pages                     Published April 12th 2016 by Thomas Nelson
  

My review: Having only read a novella by this author I wasn’t sure what to expect from a full-length novel of hers. When I received a copy of this book to review I began reading with an open mind. I must say the author completely blew me away with the story and her storytelling.

This isn’t your typical Amish fiction. This story is the powerful telling of a sick child and his mother’s fight to save him and her family when faced with the involvement of CPS. I found the story to be quite intense at times and had to put the book down for just a minute to catch my breath and process what was happening. I found though that I could only put the book down for a bit before I had to start reading again to find out what was happening to these characters. This book captivated me from page one and kept me totally involved until the last page.

The author did an awesome job with the characters. It was easy to empathize with Mattie and like Bo at the same time. These characters were complex and felt real to me from the moment I met them. The supporting characters were just as well developed and added to the story.

The author did a wonderful job in conveying the differences between the Amish and the English world when it comes to health care and the beliefs of each group. Her background in the pharmaceutical field really comes through in all the details of the medical issues. This really added another layer of believability for me and made me enjoy the book even more.

I highly recommend this book! It is the third book in the Amish Wonders series and can be read as a standalone. I haven’t read the other two books and didn’t feel lost in any way while reading this one. I will be getting the previous books though as I want to read more by this author. I will also be looking for more of her works. Ruth Reid will be added to my “must-read author” list.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

 

Purchase on Amazon

Connect with Ruth Reid:       Website        Facebook              Twitter
Leave a Reply

