No Other Will Do by Karen Witemeyer (review by Cathy)

No Other Will Do

 

About the book:

Men are optional. That’s the credo Emma Chandler’s suffragette aunts preached and why she started a successful women’s colony in Harper’s Station, Texas. But when an unknown assailant tries repeatedly to drive them out, Emma admits they might need a man after all. A man who can fight–and she knows just the one.

Malachi Shaw finally earned the respect he craved by becoming an explosives expert for the railroad. Yet when Emma’s plea arrives, he bolts to Harper’s Station to repay the girl who once saved his life. Only she’s not a girl any longer. She’s a woman with a mind of her own and a smile that makes a man imagine a future he doesn’t deserve. As the danger intensifies, old feelings grow and deepen, but Emma and Mal will need more than love to survive.

My review:

I knew that I would love this book. I just didn’t know how much I would love this book!

The premise intrigued me. Suffragettes?   How could I not be fascinated by such an interesting subject?

I discovered so much more than an interesting subject. I discovered a wonderful book that I couldn’t put down.  I discovered Malachi Shaw and Emma Chandler.  I absolutely loved them from the moment they meet as children. When Emma announced to her aunts that she wanted to “keep him”, I was hooked!

They’ve kept in touch with each other through the years and when Emma needs his help, he drops everything to rush to his “angel’s” side.

Ms. Witemeyer has written a fantastic story of strong women that work hard and are determined to make the best of their lives no matter what may have happened to them in the past. The ladies of Harper Station are facing danger and threats and are ready to protect themselves and their livelihoods with Malachi’s help.

This book is filled with action, humor and memorable characters.  A must read for fans of Christian fiction. Suitable for both young and older readers.

This one will definitely be on my top ten list of my favorite books this year.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest opinion which I have given.

 

About the author:

Karen Witemeyer

CBA bestselling author, Karen Witemeyer, writes historical romance fiction for Bethany House, believing that the world needs more happily-ever-afters.

In 2011, her debut novel, A Tailor-Made Bride, was a finalist in the Best First Book categories for both the prestigious RITA® award and the National Reader’s Choice Award.

Karen holds a master’s degree in Psychology from Abilene Christian University and is a member of ACFW, RWA, and her local writers’ guild. She is an avid cross-stitcher, shower singer, and bakes a mean apple cobbler. Karen makes her home in Abilene, TX with her husband and three children.

 

 

Leave a Reply

