Fading Starlight by Kathryn Cushman(review by Cathy)

Finding Starlight

About the book:

A Tale of Unexpected Friendship and Old Hollywood Glamour Lauren Summers is hiding. Her fashion house internship should have launched her career, but a red carpet accident has left her blackballed. The only job she finds is unpaid, but comes with free lodging–a run-down cottage in the shadow of a cliff-side mansion. Unsure of what comes next, she’s surprised to be contacted by a reporter researching a reclusive former Hollywood ingénue who lives in the nearby mansion. Kendall Joiner wants Lauren’s help uncovering the old woman’s secrets. In return, she’ll prove the red carpet accident was a publicity stunt so Lauren can regain her former job. With all her dreams in front of her, Lauren’s tempted by the offer, but as she and the old woman get to know each other, Lauren realizes nothing is quite as it seems.

My thoughts:

As this was the first book that I’ve read by Ms. Cushman, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I will say that I found a new to me author that has a writing style that I thoroughly enjoyed! I was initially drawn to the lovely cover and the description of the book.

The story is a mix of modern day and old Hollywood glamour. Lauren is a character that I really liked. She has a charm and sweetness about her that the author brought to life in a unique way.

My favorite characters were the ones that are introduced in the community where Lauren lives while trying to pick up the pieces of her life and career. I absolutely loved Charlotte Montgomery! The relationship between her and Lauren was a pure joy to read. I will definitely read more of this authors work.

There is a spiritual thread throughout this delightful story.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher. I have given my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

