An Unbroken Heart(Amish of Birch Creek #2)by Kathleen Fuller(review by Cathy)

An Unbroken Heart

About the book:

One minute, Joanna Schrock was arguing with her parents, and the next, her parents’ lives were claimed in a hit-and-run buggy accident. Her body is broken, but her heart is in even deeper pain— after all, how do you cope with your parents’ deaths when your last words were spoken in anger? After an extended stint in a physical rehabilitation center, Joanna re-enters her Amish life. But nothing is the same—not even her feelings for Andrew Beiler. Joanna has loved Andrew since the age of twelve, and her feelings have not changed throughout the years. She is thrilled when Andrew wants to get married, but she wonders whether it’s love he’s feeling, or pity. As the couple’s wedding date approaches, Joanna isn’t overcome with the deep joy she was hoping to feel; instead, she’s wracked with anxiety and guilt. Joanna hears God whispering to her, Be strong and courageous, but she’s afraid that courage looks a lot like walking away from her dreams and into the plan of her Heavenly Father. If Joanna takes the first step toward healing, will it cost her everything she’s ever wanted? Or could God be changing the desires of her heart?

My thoughts:

I enjoyed returning to Birch Creek in this second book in the Amish of Birch Creek Series. The world that Joanna Shrock has known all her life is suddenly turned upside down. What transpires in her life as she recovers from an accident surrounded by family and community takes her on a journey of self discovery. She starts out as a timid young girl and with faith and trust we see her transform into a strong young woman.

Andrew Beiler had always been a constant in her life, but circumstances change and effect people in various ways.

Ms. Fuller has written a wonderful story of love, faith, and healing. This is a must read for fans of Amish and Christian fiction.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher. I have given my honest opinion.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s