Reckless Heart by Amy Clipston (review by Kristi)

It’s #tbt here at Two Girls and a Book!  For my #tbt review, I chose the very first book of Amy Clipston’s that I read.  I had the honor and pleasure of meeting Amy and three other authors of Amish fiction at a book signing in Indianapolis back in 2013.  Luck must have been on my side that night as there weren’t a lot of people at the signing and those of us there got to spend time chatting with the authors.  I started at one end of the table and worked my way down until I got to the author who I knew the least about, Amy.  Fortunate still that there wasn’t anyone in line behind me I got to spend several minutes talking to Amy and getting to know her.  After meeting her and finding her an absolute delight I began reading Reckless Heart.  I was hooked from the beginning and have been a fan of Amy’s since and have the privilege to call her friend.

Here is my #tbt review of Reckless Heart.  Enjoy and happy reading!!!!!

 

reckless heart

About the book:  Slipping. Lydia Bontrager’s youngest sister is frighteningly ill, and as a good Amish daughter, it falls to Lydia to care for her siblings and keep the household running, in addition to working as a teacher’s assistant and helping part time at her grandmother’s bakery. Succumbing to stress, Lydia gives in to one wild night and returns home drunk. The secret of that mistake leaves Lydia feeling even more restless and confused, especially when Joshua, the only boy she’s ever loved, becomes increasingly distant. When a non-Amish boy moves in nearby, Lydia finds someone who understands her, but the community is convinced Lydia is becoming too reckless. With the pressures at home and her sister’s worsening condition, a splintering relationship with Joshua, and her own growing questions over what is right, Lydia could lose everything that she’s ever held close.

Paperback, 271 pages       Published April 17th 2012 by Zondervan
My review:  I LOVED this book. This was the first Amy Clipston book I read and I can definitely say it won’t be the last.

I won’t spend time telling what the book is about because that is covered in the description. I will tell you the story is so good and written so well I was pulled into it and was able to read this book in hours, not days. (In fact, I had to force myself to do housework and have reading this book  as a reward!).

This book is not your typical Amish fiction story. Amy writes about a serious health issue and how it affected the entire family, focusing on Lydia, the main character. The story was written in a way that I forgot I was reading about fictional characters. These characters became real to me and I couldn’t wait to find out what would happen.

This book made me tear up one second and smile the next. This book takes you on a roller coaster ride of emotions.

I highly recommend this book to everyone who enjoys Amish fiction. I will be telling others about it. This definitely goes on the keeper shelf!!!

Thank you,  Amy for writing such a great book.

Purchase on Amazon                                                     Purchase on Barnes and Noble

Visit Amy’s website at   www.amyclipston.com
Like Amy’s Facebook page to stay up-to-date on all things Amy!
Leave a Reply

