Calico Spy by Margaret Brownley (review by Kristi)

calico spy

 

From Goodreads: Pinkerton operative Katie Madison’s newest case takes her to Calico, Kansas, where two Harvey House restaurant waitresses were murdered in mysterious circumstances. Calico’s sheriff, Branch Whitman, has never met a Pink he liked and is stunned to learn the pretty redhead’s true identity as she works undercover as a Harvey girl. A tornado hits town, and a past deception puts Branch’s eight-year-old-son in danger. Now the Sheriff has no choice but to work with Katie—or chance losing everything he holds dear.

My review: When I pick up a Margaret Brownley book I know I’m in for a good time. Her books are always a quick read for me as they have everything I’m looking for: strong female characters, leading male characters who can put up with aforementioned strong female characters, and a storyline that keeps me involved from first page to last.

I liked the way the author wrote the main character in this book. She is a smart and strong Pinkerton detective yet has a feminine and vulnerable side. She is a complex character but is so easy to relate to, as is the male lead character. The two are well-developed and the author has written them to play well off each other.

The storyline in this book was interesting. There is just enough mystery to keep the story interesting and moving yet the book maintains a lightness that makes it fun to read. I felt like the story was never too heavy or dark. The author keeps the tone of the book light with things such as the way Katie pronounced the French chef’s name.

If you are a fan of mysteries or whodunits that are on the light side then this is the perfect book for you. An easy and fun read!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

Leave a Reply

