Undaunted Hope by Jody Hedlund (review by Kristi)

Undaunted Hope

 

From Goodreads: Tessa Taylor arrives in 1870s Upper Peninsula, Michigan, planning to serve as a new teacher to the town. Much to her dismay, however, she immediately learns that there was a mistake, that the town had requested a male teacher. Percival Updegraff, superintendent and chief mine clerk, says she can stay through winter since they won’t be able to locate a new teacher before then, and Tessa can’t help but say she is in his debt. Little does she know that Percival will indeed keep track of all that she owes him.

Determined to become indispensable, Tessa throws herself into teaching, and soon the children of the widowed lighthouse keeper have decided she’s the right match for their grieving father. Their uncle and assistant light keeper, Alex Bjorklund, has his own feelings for Tessa. As the two brothers begin competing for her hand, Tessa increasingly feels that someone is tracking her every move, and she may not be able to escape the trap that has been laid for her.

My review: I really enjoyed Hearts Made Whole, the first book of Jody Hedlund’s that I read. I was hoping I would enjoy this book as much. I am happy to say that I did! This book is just as well written and has a great storyline.

I liked the main character much more in this book than I did in Hearts Made Whole. She is more mature and isn’t the brat she was in the previous book. She is trying to leave her past behind and be a better person. I thought the author did a great job of making her a likable character and one I could relate to and cheer for. I immediately liked Alex. He was a fun character and the perfect man for Tessa.

I also enjoyed all of the descriptions in this book. They were written so well that it felt as if I were there and a part of the story. The author did a wonderful job of researching the area and bringing it to life. I liked the fact she combined real history with fiction to create a story that was enjoyable to read.

Even though this book is part of a series, it can be read as a standalone. I highly recommend Hearts Made Whole, but if you want to start out with this book you won’t be lost. There is enough backstory included in this book to inform the reader without seeming repetitive or out of place.

This is a great book for fans of historical fiction and/or romance. This book is a quick and easy read.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.

 

Leave a Reply

