Kristi’s Top 10 of 2015

As 2015 comes to a close I like to spend a few moments looking back at all the books I’ve read this year.  There have been a lot–82 to be exact.  I have found new authors this year and read books by authors who are on my must read list.  Below are the best of the best, the top 10 books I read during 2015.

 

10. Hearts Made Whole

Hearts Made Whole by Jody Hedlund.  Jody was a new to me author and an instant addition to my must read authors list.  This book was so good I just couldn’t put it down.  I couldn’t read fast enough to see what would happen to the characters.  Hearts Made Whole review

 

9. A Worthy Pursuit

A Worthy Pursuit by Karen Witemeyer.  I have discovered that Karen Witemeyer books are as fun to read as the covers are to look at.  This book was a good, clean read that kept me entertained from beginning to end.AWorthy Pursuit review 

 

8. My Brother's Crown

My Brother’s Crown by Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould.  Two authors who I love to read teaming up to write a book set in 1685 France equaled a definite must-read.  This book didn’t disappoint.  Rich in detail, this book transported me to a different time and place.  My Brother’s Crown review

7. Beyond All Dreams

Beyond All Dreams by Elizabeth Camden. Any book that has a main character who is a librarian is going to be a hit with me.  This was a sweet romance that hooked me on page one and wouldn’t let me go until I had finished the book.  A book I would love to read again one day.  Beyond All Dreams review

6. The Sound of Glass

The Sound of Glass by Karen White.  Amazing story!  This book was another “couldn’t put it down” read this year.  Rich in character development and detail this story grabbed my attention from the beginning.  The Sound of Glass review

5. deception on sable hill

Deception on Sable Hill by Shelley Gray.  If there’s one thing I love more than Shelley Shepard Gray’s Amish fiction books it’s her Chicago World’s Fair Mystery series.  I waited months to read this book and thankfully as a member of her street team I was able to read the book before its release date. This book was everything I hoped it would be and included one of the best lines I have read in a book all year.

Sable Hill facebook quote Deception on Sable Hill review

 

4. an empty cup

An Empty Cup by Sarah Price.  This book wowed me.  The storyline was excellent and the writing was fantastic.  I read a lot of Amish fiction and this book is one of the best I’ve ever read!  An Empty Cup review

3. The Gift

The Gift by Wanda E Brunstetter.  No top 10 list would be complete without Wanda E. Brunstetter.  One of the first authors in the Amish fiction genre, Wanda’s books never grow old or stale.  Her writing is just as good today as it was with her first book.  This book was well-written and a quick read.  Definitely one for the keeper shelf.  The Gift review

2. The Golden Braid

The Golden Braid by Melanie Dickerson.  This is a YA novel and I’m certainly not a young adult.  I received this book from the publisher to read and review. I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book that was marketed as “YA”.  Keeping an open mind I set down with this book and was pleasantly surprised to find that I loved this telling of the classic story of Rapunzel, with a twist.  Before I was even finished with this book I was ordering more YA books by this author and can’t wait to read them.  A must read for young adults and not-so-young adults. The Golden Braid review

1.the forgotten recipe A Reluctant Bride

The Forgotten Recipe by Amy Clipston                                                                        A Reluctant Bride by Kathleen Fuller

Yes, a tie for first place.  I have been trying to choose between these two books for awhile now and just can’t.  Both books are deserving of the number 1 spot.

Amy Clipston has opened up her new Amish Heirloom series with a wonderful story of love, loss, and moving forward.  Great stories are to come in this series.  Amy has given us a clue in the form of a certain little article of clothing that is blue.  That’s all I’m telling you other than you need to pick up this book. Once you pick it up you won’t want to put it down.  I read this book in one day! This is Amy’s best work to date!! A Forgotten Recipe review

Kathleen Fuller has written a gripping tale of an Amish family that isn’t perfect and has secrets you wouldn’t believe.  A Reluctant Bride shows us that the Amish don’t live the perfect lives so many think they do.  This was another book I read in one day.  This was the first book of Kathleen’s that I had read and it definitely won’t be the last.  I can’t wait to read the next book in this series.  A Reluctant Bride review

Hopefully these two ladies won’t mind sharing the top spot on my list.  They have both written wonderful stories that are entertaining and thought provoking.  I can’t wait to see what’s in store with these two authors in 2016.

 

So there you have it.  My top 10 (ok, there’s 11 because of the tie) favorite book of 2015.  There were a lot of other great books I read this year and, believe me, it was hard narrowing down the list to just 10 (ok, 11).  I can’t wait to get started reading for next year’s top 10 list!

Happy reading!!!!

2 thoughts on “Kristi’s Top 10 of 2015

  1. Thanks for your list. I have only read a couple of these but many are on my TBR lists. Do y’all have a Facebook page for the blog where I can follow your updates? (I get WAY too much email!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

