The Christmas Joy RideThe Christmas Joy Ride by Melody Carlson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Being a fan of Melody’s book The Christmas Dog, I was excited to read this book. I thought the premise sounded interesting. An elderly lady and her neighbor/friend head out down the historic Route 66 to spread Christmas cheer to winners of a Christmas contest.

The book started off good. I liked the characters and Joy seemed to be a…..well, joy! Miranda was likable as well and I felt like I really got to know the characters and where they were in their lives. The story was well setup for their journey.

Once the pair started out on their journey I felt like the book wasn’t as well written. It seemed as if the story was a bit drawn out at times and rushed at others. There was a certain point in the book where the story just became too predictable and I felt like there was no point continuing on because I knew how it would end. However, I did finish the book and had correctly predicted the ending.

If you like quick, sweet holiday reads this would be a great book for you. Full of holiday cheer and goodwill this book will get you in the holiday spirit! Happy reading!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

