Dangerous Tidings by Dana Mentink (review by Kristi)

Dangerous Tidings

From Goodreads: SEARCHING FOR THE TRUTH

Coast Guard rescue swimmer Brent Mitchell wants only one gift for Christmas: to find his sister. When he discovers that her disappearance is tangled with the death of private eye Bruce Gallagher, he joins forces with Bruce’s daughter Donna to investigate. Grieving Donna is as tough as the determined military man, and both will stop at nothing to find the truth. But the duo soon discovers that a murdered father and a missing sister merely top a looming pyramid of secrets on Coronado Island. Deadly secrets. These unlikely partners have vowed to stick together until their most important case is closed, but they may pay with their lives.

My review: It’s been a while since I’ve read anything published by Harlequin. I used to read them a lot and it was all the same. Man meets woman, they can’t stand each other, something happens, they fall in love and live happily ever after. Ugh! I want a bit more to my stories than that. After reading Dangerous Tidings, I have to say Dana Mentink has delivered what I was looking for.

Yes, this book has the man meets woman element and they have their issues with each other. However, their issues are an important part of the story and very believable. I also found the characters to be well developed and complex.

There is almost nonstop action in this book. There is always something going on to advance the story and keep the reader turning the pages to find out what happens next. I also found the suspense level in the book to be just right. Just enough suspense to keep the story interesting without being over the top.

Ms. Mentink has done an excellent job of writing a romantic suspense. This was the first book of hers I have read and won’t be the last.

I received a free copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

Leave a Reply

