The Wedding Chapel by Rachel Hauck (review by Cathy)

The Wedding Chaple

 

 

From Goodreads:

An old, forgotten chapel holds the key to love and forgiveness. Retired hall-of-fame football coach Jimmy Westbrook never imagined anything would come of his labor of love—building a wedding chapel for Collette Greer, the woman he fell in love with in 1949. But now a realtor wants the land the chapel sits on, and he sees no reason to hang onto the past. Photographer Taylor Branson is trying to make a life for herself in New York. Leaving her hometown of Heart’s Bend, Tennessee, she put a lot of things behind her, including her family’s string of failed marriages. When she falls head-over-heels for Jack Gillingham, a top ad man, their whirlwind romance and elopement leave her with doubts. Jack, while genuine in his love for Taylor, can never seem to find the right way to show her he really cares. When a post-mortem letter from Taylor’s Granny Peg shows up, along with an old photo, she is driven to uncover family secrets and the secret to her own happiness, starting with an assignment to photograph an unknown, obscure wedding chapel back in Heart’s Bend. Taylor begins a mission to convince Jimmy that the chapel is worth saving—and that forgiveness and healing might happen within the chapel’s walls . . . for both of them.

My review:

At first I found the story a bit too slow, but as I read more, I quickly became engaged. I enjoyed the different time periods and the setting of both New York and Heart’s Bend, Texas. Ms. Hauck is very descriptive in both her characters and their surroundings.

Taylor and Jack have a complex marriage. It took awhile for me to warm up to their characters. As continued to read, I liked them more as their story progresses.

I was drawn to Jimmy and Collete from the start and their story became my favorite. They were both very selfless characters that I enjoyed getting to know.

All of the charcters are important to the storyline and not just used as filler!  Some I liked very much and some others, not too much.

There are some twists and turns that held my attention and there were so many times in this book where the message was clear to me that trust, honesty, and communication are key in all relationships.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.

 

Leave a Reply

