The Golden Braid by Melanie Dickerson (review by Kristi)

The Golden Braid

From Goodreads: The one who needs rescuing isn’t always the one in the tower.

Rapunzel can throw a knife better than any man around. And her skills as an artist rival those of any artist she’s met. But for a woman in medieval times, the one skill she most desires is the hardest one to obtain: the ability to read.

After yet another young man asks for Rapunzel’s hand in marriage, Mother decides they need to move once again, but this time to a larger city. Rapunzel’s heart soars—surely there she can fulfill her dream. But Mother won’t let her close to a man. She claims that no man can be trusted.

After being rescued by a knight on the road to the city, and in turn rescuing him farther down the road, Rapunzel’s opportunity arrives at last. This knight, Sir Gerek, agrees to educate Rapunzel in order to pay back his debt. She just has to put up with his arrogant nature and single-minded focus on riches and prestige.

But this Rapunzel story is unlike any other and the mystery that she uncovers will change everything—except her happily ever after.

 

My review: I received a free copy of this book for reviewing purposes. After reading the letter that was included with the book I was a bit hesitant about reading the book itself. My qualms were: 1.) This was a YA (young adult) novel and I am NOT a young adult, 2.) This was a retelling of the fairytale Rapunzel, with a twist. I don’t really remember much about the “original” Rapunzel except her hair was long, and 3.) I had never read anything by Melanie Dickerson. However, I did like the cover of the book (yes, I do judge books by their cover) so off I went into the land of Rapunzel…..

I. LOVED. THIS. BOOK!!! Within the first few pages of the story I was hooked. I immediately liked this Rapunzel. She seemed sweet yet she had a touch of toughness about her. She was definitely not a damsel in distress or weakling. She was just a girl who lived with her mother. A mother who seemed kind of strange. My favorite thing about Rapunzel was her desire to learn to read. I may have swooned just a bit when I read of her desire to learn to read!

If liking Rapunzel wasn’t enough then enter Sir Gerek. He was another immediately likable character. Even though he and Rapunzel have their doubts about each other there was a chemistry between them that jumped off the page. I couldn’t read fast enough to see what the author had in mind for these two.

In my opinion, the author did a fantastic job retelling Rapunzel’s story. It is a sweet, romantic read that will keep you entertained for hours. The story is so well-written that I found myself reading “just one more chapter” until my vision was so blurry I had to put the book down. Only to pick it back up again when my vision had cleared. Oh, and this book, even though it is classified as Young Adult, is a great read for those of us who don’t happen to fit into the category.

This is a book I think any girl of teenage years and beyond would enjoy. It does have its moments of violence, but it is dealt with in a not-too-descriptive way. Other than those moments this is a good, sweet read. A definite keeper on my bookshelf!

I was given a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion, which I have given.

Leave a Reply

