The Amish Christmas Sleigh by Kelly Long, Amy Lillard, and Molly Jebber (review by Kristi)

An Amish Christmas Sleigh

Three stories about couples who find happiness and love at Christmas make up the Amish Christmas Sleigh. Not normally my type of book I thought I would give this one a try. I have given the book three stars as a collection but don’t think each story was worth three stars.

A Sleigh Ride on Ice Mountain by Kelly Long is the first story in the book. Never having read anything by this author I was a little shocked at some of the story. I don’t want to include anything that would spoil the book for readers but at times I questioned if I was reading an Amish story. There were things in this story that I haven’t seen in Amish fiction before. I want my Amish fiction to be nice and clean and not have elements that I would find in contemporary, non-Amish fiction. I liked the premise of the story but due to the surprising elements would only give this story 1 1/2 stars. I don’t think I would read anything else by this author.

A Mamm for Christmas by Amy Lillard was by far my favorite story in this book. The characters were easy to relate to and I felt interested in their story. I found myself smiling at the antics of the three small girls. Amy has a writing style that is easy to read. I can get wrapped up in one of her stories, short or full-length novel, and be lost for hours. I would give this story 5 stars.

An Unexpected Christmas Blessing by Molly Jebber was a cute story. I liked the characters and the story was nice. The only downfall of this story is Molly’s writing style. It seems a bit stilted and almost elementary in style. I know this was a short story/novella but it would have been nice to have more depth to the story and the characters. I would have liked to have seen a better flow to the story. This story I would give three stars to.

Fans of Amish fiction will probably enjoy this collection of stories. However, don’t say you weren’t warned about the first one!

I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

Leave a Reply

