The Photograph by Beverly Lewis (review by Kristi)

the photograph

Finally! Finally a Beverly Lewis book I could sink my reading teeth into and stay interested in from beginning to end. The Photograph reminded me why I loved reading books by Beverly Lewis.

The book centers on the disappearance of Lily Esch. After the death of her parents it seems Lily has lost her way and then she runs away from home without any clues as to where she might have gone. Her disappearance weighs heavily on Eva, the sister who was the closest to her. While the family tries to find Lily and keep her reputation intact, Eva struggles with why she left. For not only did she lose her sister, but she lost her best friend. Eva meets Jed Stutzman, who is visiting from Ohio, at an auction and the two become friendly with each other until Eva sees the photograph that Jed has. The photograph that changes everything….

This is by far the best Beverly Lewis book I have read in years. I was interested in the book from the title, cover, and description. I was not disappointed as this book quickly drew me in and kept me interested from beginning to end.

There are a lot of characters in the book and it was a bit hard for me to keep some of the secondary characters straight in my mind. My favorite characters were Eva and Jed. They were easy to like and relate to and I wanted both to discover happiness after the sadness they had endured. I also liked Naomi and her husband, Abner. I feel like they, along with their son, have a story to be told that could possibly be the next Beverly Lewis book we see.

Even though there are characters from The River, a previous Beverly Lewis book, The Photograph is a standalone book that Amish fiction fans will enjoy. If you like Amish fiction with a bit of suspense then this is the book for you!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review which I have given.

Leave a Reply

