Brightest and Best by Olivia Newport (review by Kristi)

Brightest and Best

I must say after reading the previous book in this series and not really enjoying it I wasn’t sure if I would like this book. I tried to keep an open mind as I began reading. I was pleasantly surprised to find I really enjoyed this story.

This story takes place in 1918 Ohio. It tells the story of the Amish who fought the authorities to keep their children from going to the consolidated public schools. While not strictly based on the actual events of the real case the author did her research and used facts that make the story genuine and real.

Through the author’s storytelling, it was easy to understand why the Amish felt the way they did. The author made it easy to feel the emotions of the characters, especially the tension between the two groups. The story had a good flow and it was easy to stay interested in the story.

I liked the characters in the book but especially liked Margaret Simpson, the teacher who was given the task of trying to get the Amish to send their children to school. She was easy to like and I think that I liked her more and more through the book as she tried to understand the way the Amish felt.

This book would be a good read for anyone who likes Amish fiction and those who like a bit different story. I also think fans of fiction based on historical events would enjoy this book.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinions.

One thought on “Brightest and Best by Olivia Newport (review by Kristi)

Leave a Reply

