Change of Heart by Molly Jebber (review by Kristi)

A Change of heart

Becca Yost, freshly left at the alter, travels from her parent’s Amish farm in Berlin, Ohio to visit her sister in Masillion, Ohio. Upon arriving there, she meets and is attracted to Dr. Matt Carrington, who is not Amish. The two have an immediate attraction to each other but can their attraction withstand the obstacles in their way? Can these two find a happily ever after when their lives are so very different?

I liked the premise of this book. It sounded like a very interesting story and one that I could just dive into and get lost in. However, I had a bit of a problem getting interested in the story. Once I did though the book was somewhat easy to read. I did find that some of the dialogue seemed stilted and choppy and this took away from the story for me. The characters seemed developed enough that I thought of them as people and not just fictional characters.

I found the climax of the story to be somewhat lacking. I don’t want to spoil anything, but I just thought with all the issues the characters had the climax could have packed a bit more punch and really swept the reader off their feet.

Finally, I feel like the Amish storyline was just there to sell the story. Based on the cover I felt like this was going to be an Amish fiction type book and in my opinion was not. It seemed at times the book was more turn of the century historical romance with Amish details thrown in. In fact, it was quite easy for me to forget that Becca had come from an Amish family.

If you are looking for a nice, clean read then I think you might enjoy the book. It was a nice story to read.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, through NetGalley, in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

Leave a Reply

