Beyond the Ashes by Karen Barnett (review by Kristi)

Beyond the Ashes

I wasn’t sure when I started this book if I would like it or not. The book started out slow and I had a bit of trouble staying interested in it. Soon though I was easily transported to post-earthquake San Francisco and was engrossed in the story.

I don’t want to go into details about the book and spoil anything for other readers, but I will say this book had me on the edge of my seat at times. I soon came to care for the characters and was very interested in how things would turn out for them. The characters seemed genuine and likable.

The author wrote about life in San Francisco after the earthquake in such a way that I felt as if I was experiencing things first-hand. It was interesting to read about the camps where the displaced lived.

This book had a perfect mix of seriousness and light-heartedness. The subject of cancer, as we all know, can be depressing and very sad. The author mixed humor into the story in a way that fit and kept the book from being overly sad.

Although this is the second book in the series and I hadn’t read the first I didn’t feel lost. This book is well written and can easily be read as a standalone. I would easily recommend this book to anyone looking for a good, gripping read.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

Leave a Reply

