The Midwife’s Tale (review by Kristi)

The Midwife's Tale

If only the content of the book would have lived up to the cover! This book has left me torn. I really wanted to like the book and there were parts I did like. However, there were things about the book I didn’t care for.

After beginning the book, I wasn’t quite sure the direction the author was trying to take with the story. The book focuses on Martha Cade, a midwife and healer to the women and children of her area. She is also mother to Victoria who runs off while her mother is away assisting in a birth. If this isn’t enough Martha is also going up against the new town doctor, whom she believes is threatening her position, and trying to assist a new “family” in town, solving a mystery of missing items, repairing a friendship, and perhaps falling in love with an old flame.

There is just too much going on in this book for me with no clear direction of where things are going. At times, the book was easy to read and at others I felt like I was not giving my total attention to the book because I just wasn’t that interested.

Another thing that bothered me was the book is 336 pages and with all the things going on the everything is wrapped up suddenly and neatly in the end. It’s as if the characters are living their lives when suddenly the author gets tired of them and wants to wrap everything up.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

Leave a Reply

