Deception on Sable Hill (review by Kristi)

deception on sable hill

Shelley Gray whisks us away to 1893 Chicago in the first line of the book as we are waltzing across parquet ballroom floors with the high society people of Chicago. Set against the backdrop of the Chicago World’s Fair, this book has just the right amount of mystery, suspense and romance. All three elements are perfectly woven together with great descriptions to keep the reader intrigued and engaged from beginning to end.

I really liked the two main characters in this book. They were authentic and honest and the complex nature of their relationship made them seem real. I enjoyed reading about Chicago and the World’s Fair. Once again the descriptions Shelley wrote brought the city alive and it was so easy to imagine I was there.

It’s not often I find myself reading the same line of a book over and over or even remembering the page number so I can go back and read it again.  Shelley wrote a line in this book that had me doing both.  To me this one line captures the way Sean feels about Eloisa.  Here is that line:

cropped-sable-hill-facebook-quote.jpg

This is a must read book for anyone who likes historical fiction, suspense, mystery, or romance. A wonderful way to spend the day reading!

I was given a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion which I have given.

Leave a Reply

